We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle makes downtown visits easy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Shuttle makes downtown visits easy!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's not very often we get a room with a view but this time it was great. We had a room that overlooked the yacht club. The room itself was a good size - very roomy with a work area that had a hideabed couch, fridge, microwave and two flat screen TVs. Four pillows on each comfy queen bed. The entire hotel has good looking modern decor and great ammenities; All lights worked, plenty of electrical outlets, fluffy towels and plenty of soap and shampoo, conditioner and body lotion and two packages of makeup remover. The sink and granite countertop is outside the bathroom itself which is always a good feature. The pool was heated, even at the end of October and was good size so we enjoyed a morning swim. The hot tub was very comfortable also. There is plenty of parking and there are a few covered parking places in the lower level.
We chose this hotel because of the shuttle service to downtown Charleston. It's so difficult to find a parking place downtown and even harder to drive around in the dark. The shuttle dropped us off right at the market and had two pickup times for our return trip.
Breakfast buffet was abundant and excellent. First of all there was fresh fruit out all day long and fresh cookies when we checked in, even though this place was really busy. Coffee is on all day too. We had scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, and biscuits along with yogurt and cinnamon or blueberry muffins that were very good. They also had toast, french toast, bagels, juice, cold and hot cereal and grits. It was the best complimentary breakfast we've ever had at a hotel. We also noticed they had the Charleston Tea Plantation tea setting out by the hot water. We had visited the Charleston Tea Plantation earlier in the day. There were also plenty of USA Today newspapers available.
The next morning when we were ready to leave the front desk gave us printed to directions to our next stop - the Isle of Palms. They had directions to most of the tourist places.
We used a reward night for our stay and needless to say, I recommend this place 100%.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor with a view of the yacht club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    247
    68
    26
    21
See reviews for
190
208
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just stayed for one night. Location was clean, and free breakfast was superior to the usual fare. Not too far from downtown historic district. Room was quiet even though I got distracted and forgot to ask for one away from the elevator and ice machine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travelers. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wonderful view of the marina. The hotel is beautifully appointed with decor and colors--warm, inviting and comforting. Large king room with roomy seating area and great computer work area. The complimentary breakfast exceeds all of the hotels at which I previously stayed. In addition to the cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, there is juicy sausage patties, scrambled eggs, cheesy omelets AND cheesy grits (yummy) and country white gravy. The coffee and juice are a step up. What was the real jewel of the stay? The staff!!! Matt was the epitome of southern hospitality and a true ambassador of Charleston--he deserves an award! He was so helpful in guiding us to places downtown for food and fun and had great suggestions on what to do to get the best taste of Charleston including the carriage ride in downtown. Stanley our shuttle driver to downtown took great care of getting us to and from the hotel along the very picturesque route. Perfect weather in October for a stroll around the town.

Only Con: Might be a little tricky to find the hotel, but use your GPS. You might think your GPS is going haywire with all the twists and turn, but be patient and it will get you there.

Room Tip: Choose an upper room for a great view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17NancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Nancy S.,

We hope all is well in Texas! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the SpringHill Suites. Furthermore, I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to Matt & Stanley. They are true assets to the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and our guests.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure next time you are in Charleston.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The place is a dump. Run-down, smells bad and location not very good. For almost the same price, I checked out of here and into a competitor's hotel downtown. Would never even consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Cindy B.,

It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that my team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.

In regards to the hotel, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities; in fact, I trust that you would be highly pleased with some of the hotel's upcoming improvements. We recognize that there are great properties in Charleston and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We enjoyed our 5-night stay as we visited Charleston for the very first time. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the harbor view was beautiful, and the free breakfast was an added treat. We used the shuttle service every evening to take us to and from the historic district.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 4th floor room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moser219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and all the amenities offered. Also, that is a great picture! SpringHill Suites' views sure do not disappoint! Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This beautiful, clean hotel, in the marina/river area, has the finest staff we have ever encountered in our 40+ years of travel! From the front desk, to the shuttle driver, to the breakfast staff, everyone went out of their way to ensure that we were having a wonderful time! Our balcony offered a view of the river and downtown Charleston. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and the free evening shuttle to/from the historic district made it easy to explore.

Our 2 queen room offered a large desk area with free wifi, a wet bar w/fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, living area with sofa and easy chair, deluxe beds and bedding, large bathroom with separate room for toilet/tub. We loved it! Even included two flatscreen TVs!

If you are visiting Charleston and want to experience true southern hospitality, call this hotel, make a reservation and do yourself a favor!

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms offer balconies. Also request a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the fabulous review and kind words! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We strive towards complete service excellence and guest satisfaction and are pleased that you had a terrific experience. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to our amazing staff. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Above average service from all staff from front desk and manager, to drivers. Very helpful choosing attractions, restaurants, tours. Quality selection of breakfast buffet items, good coffee, nice king suite.
We liked being in a quiet setting off of the main downtown area.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet king suite at the end of the hallway on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi1948ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and amenities offered. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Charleston area!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing