We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Above average service from all staff from front desk and manager, to drivers. Very helpful choosing attractions, restaurants, tours. Quality selection of breakfast buffet items, good coffee, nice king suite.
We liked being in a quiet setting off of the main downtown area.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet king suite at the end of the hallway on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi1948ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and amenities offered. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Charleston area!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 635 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

So, I went on a business trip and the hotel was okay. Checking in the staff was awesome. The room was nice with a great view of the river - I always ask for an HC room as it's always bigger. Bathrooms were okay. I didn't get a chance to check out the fitness center or breakfast, but I wasn't dissappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingoutofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is disgusting. Very old, very damp, and very very bad smell in the room. I looked to see if a body was being stored in the room. Called the front desk and they told me this is how the entire smell smells. Well that's incorrect. The entire town doesn't smell like damp socks that have been in a gym bag for the entire semester. Glad I'm just staying one night because I just threw some Reward Points out the door on the one.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Briansmith10,

We hope that all is well with you in Kentucky! We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest, opinionated review of the SpringHill Suites by Marriott. It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations.

Just to update you on the odor-- this summer has proven to be one of the hottest summers in history. South Carolina's marshes are known for its pluff mud. This mud leads to an unpleasant smell when it is extremely hot and humid outside. Luckily, we are able to take preventative measures with a dehumidifying system and other methods. Because of this, it is not often that we get complaints regarding the issue. I regret that our team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution.

We truly appreciate your honest feedback and constantly strive towards excellence in guest satisfaction. We would love to have you visit us again so that we can make it up to you. If you are ever in the area, please contact me at katie.register@fowlerhospitality so that I can personally set up your accommodations.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

When my wife and I visited Charleston, we had a dilemma. Where whould we stay? We had choices from expensive grand B&B's in the historic downtown or more cost effective lodgings from standard hotels. In our case, we chose Springhill Suites beacuse is was rated in the top 20% of charleston hotels and was very affordable.

We chose Springhill Suites because we got a beautiful LARGE suite with two big screen TV's, a free hot breakfast, free parking and free evening shuttles to Charleston's historic down town area.

We are glad that we made this decision. Our room offered a spectacular view of the yacht club yachts at their moorings and a very comfortable abode for four days. The fact that we were a minor 10 minute drive from downtown didn't factor into our decision.

There was nothing to complain about at Springhill. And our rate for four nights saved us enough money to really splurge on five star fine dining with the savings.

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit room on a higher floor and you will be well rewarded with water views, sunshine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Although this is a gorgeous property from the outside and the rooms are well layed out and roomy, this hotel suffers from a damp-mildew problem. Our room even had a small de-humidifier in it but that just wasn't enough to make the room more comfortable. We were also a bit surprised that the entrance to the out door pool was through a parking garage. Very creepy. The parking garage makes up the first floor of the hotel, with the registration desk on the second floor. The staff was lovely and they have a van to take you to downtown Charleson every evening. Fabulous views of boats and sunsets out your window.

Room Tip: Perhaps try asking for their sunniest room???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel and we were very impressed. The location was handy to everything, The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. You will enjoy staying here when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsnwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Barbara C.,

I hope all is well in Anderson, SC! Thank you so much for celebrating your 55th anniversary with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers. We hope to see you next time you are in the Charleston area!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We decided to take a last minute overnight trip to Charleston/Folly Beach. This was our first time staying at this hotel, and we were very impressed! We only hit a slight snag when checking in. Somehow, the name was reversed on the reservation, (last name first, then first name last) As a tip: when checking in, have the desk clerk look for your name under your last name and your first name, in the event the name on your reservation gets swapped.

As for the room-wow! We booked a king suite for the night, and were very pleasantly surprised. When we walked in, it looked great! The layout was perfect, very spacious, and ladies, the mini shampoo and conditioner was Paul Mitchell! The bed was very comfortable, the TV was a flat screen on a swivel bar so it can bee easily viewed from the couch or the bed. The shower worked very well, and they made sure to supply us with an ample amount of towels, which is very appreciated. The room seemed to filter a lot of the outside sound out, so we didn't hear a lot of the outside noise come through into our room.

Breakfast was incredible! There was a slew of things to chose from-kid cereal, a small variety of granola cereals, oatmeal with various things to mix in, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, Canadian style turkey bacon for the non-pork eaters, southern style gravy with out the sausage (again, for the non pork eaters), french toast, bagels, biscuits, muffins, yogurts, waffles, fun things to put in or on top of your waffles, fruit, and even had chocolate syrup for making chocolate milk! Of course you had your orange and apple juices, along with milk, coffee and tea.

Overall, this stay couldn't have been better. We very much enjoyed this hotel, and would definitely consider it for our next overnight stay in Charleston!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view of the harbor with all of the beautiful boats and yachts decked....would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbower0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Twheeler0214,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our breathtaking views, amazing breakfast and spacious rooms. We hope to see you next time you are in Charleston. If I can help with any future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me at Katie.Register@fowlerhospitality.com.

We hope to see you soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $117 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing