We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled Reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cancelled Reservation”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I never had the chance to stay here, but I had a reservation and I cancelled it properly. They still charged me the room although I called and I made it clear. When I receive my credit card statement there was the charge, so I called and spoke with the front desk agent and he told me to call the day after when the front desk manager was available. So I called the next day, the front desk agent transfered me to the front desk manager, he told me I should speak with the reservations office, so he transfered me. Then reservations transfered me to customer care, then customer care transfered me to accounting, then in accounting office they told me they were not in the hotel so they could not solve the problem for me. I spent like 40 minutes trying to resolve the issue...At the end I haven't solved the issue yet. What an administrative mess they have. No one there knows who is suppose to do what.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rdclairemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    244
    67
    26
    21
See reviews for
188
205
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The SpringHill Suites Riverview has a nice location on the water, with a relatively close proximity to downtown Charleston. The room suites were adequate size and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is served daily. No evening social hour is offered. The California Dreaming restaurant is within walking distance, but automobile transportation would be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

No complaints about this generic hotel; clean and decent sized rooms. But it's NOT in historic Charleston and a car is required to get to anything and everything. The breakfast was free, but apparently most of the people who stayed here had never gotten a free breakfast here and piled their plates high with everything available. Plastic dishes, cups, and plastic everything for the meal. This place could be so much better if there was some TLC. Oh, and for some strange reason, reception is on the second floor -- not when you walk thru the doors.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowler62, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feelings about the SpringHill Suites property. For clarification purposes, I would like to refute a couple of issues that you brought to attention in your review. Any bookable website with our listed property will state that we are about 1.5 miles from the historic district. Although located in downtown Charleston, we never claim to be part of the historic district. Also, I do not understand your comment on portion sizes. It is complimentary and we urge guests to help themselves to breakfast. We prepare to have more than enough food for all our guests, so portion sizes of other guests should be a non-issue. As far as the plastic ware, we up are up to Marriott standards/requirements for SpringHill Suites. Only in full service properties is china required. Also, our reception/check-in desk is located on the 2nd floor due to our property being so close to the harbor. We like to keep all guests and rooms as safe as possible due to possible flooding hazards. Thanks again and please feel free to contact me at katie.johnson@fowlerhospitality.com should you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent price and service with central location to everything in the Charleston area. The staff is great! Too get that harborview ask for a corner room facing the water.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Clean spacious rooms and nice location. Breakfast wasn't great, but better than average. Will definitely stay there for our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DashA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Springhill Suites at Ripley Point Drive is much like other SpringHill Suites. The rooms are large with a sitting/kitchen area and a sleeping area. Both parts of the room have a large flat screen tv which has cable, unlike many Marriott hotels which have a few Dish channels. The hotel is clean and the staff very helpful and courteous. There is ample free parking and free WiFi. The complimentary breakfast is also good and like that at other SpringHill Suites. We found our queen beds very comfortable.
Hotel prices in central Charleston seem to go up and up and we have recently looked for alternatives away from the center. This hotel is very well located if you have a car and there is an evening free shuttle if you don't, although the latter was well used and so you may have a wait. A drive along Calhoun Street and down Meeting Street takes you to the Cumberland Street parking garage (or several other city parking garages) where you can park for an evening for a few dollars. Parking at hotels in central Charleston (even those with their own self park areas) can cost $25 per day. In all, a very good place to stay fifteen minutes drive from the center of the city.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms overlooking the marsh side are best. Fourth floor rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCarolinaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

my family and friends stayed there September 16 - 18. Wonderful stay, breakfast was great. Service and staff - excellent. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 61 in Charleston
1,108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing