We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool park with amazing trees” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battery & White Point Gardens

Battery & White Point Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool park with amazing trees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great place to relax after walking through the historic section. We had a bunch of kids with us and they loved climbing the cannons and strolling through the gazebo. The trees are fantastic and create an overhead canopy--very cool on a hot day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,139
    546
    109
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
socarolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is very worthwhile. It is very historic and well preserved. You need to take one of the tours that will tell you about its history, complete with stories of the beginning of the city, the Pirate era, the Civil war, and Hurricane Hugo. Probably not good to go there at night, though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank socarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We parked by this park toward evening & joined the many other people who were strolling along the walk by the water & also walked around the neighborhood to see the beautiful homes. I liked being able to see the homes up close.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank myls2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stop and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lots of History and many stories to hear about at the Battery & White Point Gardens. It is lush and green with lots of trees but it is not what I would consider Gardens. Still pretty area and the Sea Wall is great to walk. No bathrooms anywhere close by so make sure that is something to take care of before going there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“White Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is it! This is where our personal war began. The view of the harbor and the rows of fabulous mansions is unparalleled Though I will never live in one of them, I feel that each of them is mine. If you come to Charleston and only see this, then you have come to Charleston.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank randolph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battery & White Point Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Battery & White Point Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing