We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriately Named in this Friendly City”
Review of Rainbow Row

Rainbow Row
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph Manigault House Visit
Ranked #33 of 238 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Appropriately Named in this Friendly City”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

With so many wonderful structures scattered throughout Charleston, Rainbow Row adds another exclamation point to the diversity of this Antebellum city. When taking a stroll to immerse yourself in the architectural choices start with the homes along this area and then continue to the end of the street and back down in front of the Homes on the Battery. Then on to the waterfront park with it's delightful fountains.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dickd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    287
    157
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sad :-(”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I was really looking forward to this part of my trip. I have been so excited to see rainbow row and was really disappointed at how faded and normal it looked. If you go, have realistic expectations. Side note, go to the park in front of it. It made up for the disappointment.

Helpful?
2 Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Range, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the area!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've been going to Charleston every year since I was born. I love it there! Every year we visit downtown, and go the markets along with Rainbow row and the battery. Every year there always seems to be some kind of construction going on to keep the integrity. Beautiful homes with awesome landscaping. I recommend to anyone who is in Charleston or close to it to take the trip. The horse drawn carriage tours are great also!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaC8846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I want to live here”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Though there's nothing to see or do other than walk by and take pics, it is so lovely and embodies the spirit of Charleston perfectly. It would be a dream to own one of these properties.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 651MichelleJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit run down”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A drive-by would be sufficient. Nothing to see here, folks. Move along... Go take a walk along the wharf right next door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank IRMLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Row also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rainbow Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing