We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston/Beaufort/Savannah -- Bike trip”

Charleston Bicycle Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private and group 1, 3, & 6 day bicycle tours of Charleston,Beaufort,Savannah and their environs.Includes luxury accommodations,excellent meals,licensed guide,van support,and fun/small groups. Come cycle past historic homes on quiet streets through quaint towns and surrounding islands and experience the charm of the Low country shown by an 11th generation South Carolinian.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charleston/Beaufort/Savannah -- Bike trip”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visiting the Low Country with Karen and Alex Graham as your tour guides is like spending a week visiting two of your favorite out-of-town relatives. They were wonderful hosts who took great delight in showing us Charleston, Beaufort and Savannah during our 6 days together.

The bikes were top-notch and the daily routes were safe with minimal traffic. Alex wove details about the region's architecture, history, culture, flora and fauna into his narrative as we cycled. In addition, the accomodations were terrific, the meals/restaurants were exceptional and we also had great weather.

This was my first bike trip (my husband has been on several) but we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would not hesitate to recommend Charleston Bicycle Tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikecharleston, Owner at Charleston Bicycle Tours, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a very positive review of your trip. We look forward to seeing y'all again on one of our upcoming new tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this! It was the best thing we did in Charleston!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

On our first visit to Charleston, my husband and I wanted to do something very different. We love biking and looking online, Charleston Bike Tours got fabulous ratings, so we decided to give it a try. We had an awesome time. Alex was a wonderful guide, filling us with so much rich history of the area, and great restaurants, and great things to do. The weather was superb and we couldn't have been happier with everything from the rented bikes, the scenic roads, waterways, trees (couldn't miss that Angel Oak), to our fabulous guide and his first-class picnic lunch. Not to mention, we got to work off a few calories! Alex gets to do what he loves, everyday, and it shows!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charleston,sc”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having never been to Charleston we thought it would be fun to add a bike ride with a tour of the area. Charleston Bike tours had a lot of good reviews and we booked our trip. We were not disappointed. Our guides, Alex and Karen, were very knowledge about the history and everything else about the area. This is not a heads down fast pedal tour. They definitely allow time to stop and "smell the roses." In our case, it was sunflowers as we came across a beautiful field with corn and sunflowers and we had to stop. Looking forward to our next trip to savannah .

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank drw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikecharleston, Owner at Charleston Bicycle Tours, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks Hank. It was a pleasure for Karen and I to show you and you and Patrice arround our area. And look forward to your trip with us to Beaufort and Savannah this spring. Will be posting the 2013 dates of our tours on our website in the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seeing the city of Charleston from an outdoor perspective!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having always wanted to visit the city of Charleston, this was a wonderful opportunity to get outdoors and see the many interesting sites that the city and surrounding countryside has to offer. My two daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed biking along the city streets, waterways, and secluded points of the coast. Alex and Karen were extremely great tour guides as we learned about the history of the city and surrounding attractions. We dined at fabulous restaurants and learned where to shop and sight see during our free time in the afternoon. I would definitely recommend this type of trip to both avid and moderate bikers as you can set your own pace and take in all the beautiful scenery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is a first-class experience!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owners do it right, from the bikes and gear to lovely lunches presented along the ride, and wonderful evening dinners planned for at local restaurants. What a great way to see Charleston and the Lowcountry up close and personal! Well worth it! They have done their homework and it shows!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Bicycle Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing