We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch; excellent service”

Ladles Homemade Soups
Ranked #248 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
169 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch; excellent service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lauren took tremendous care of us today for a wonderful alfresco lunch. Our first Ladles experience, and it was excellent. Tried two soups, a great dressed-up hot dog in a freshly-baked bun, and we got a bonus intro into the area from Lauren. Thank you for a great lunch and very welcoming treatment for two travelers visiting the area for the first time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stump_fiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cross, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I just love there she crab soup,it is soo good. Everyone that I go to the people are just so friendly......

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Head cold, I'm sold!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was feeling under the weather and had a friend recommend Ladles...and to my delight, she was right on...Great menu selection and the soups were divine! I ordered the sweet potato chili...now if you're thinking, really? Yes! It was delish. I loved the aroma and full flavor of the sweet and spice. I think the price was a little high, payed almost $7 for a bowl, but was money well spent since it made me feel better despite the chill in the air...Chilly air...Chili dare, hit the spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indy_colts2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just awesome!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This place has amazing soups, great sandwiches and a super friendly & helpful staff. Be sure to ask about the frozen take home soups, great value and convenience.

Helpful?
Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and Delicous”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate at the Ladles on Calhoun after traveling all day. Our daughter, a student at the College of Charleston recommended it. The restaurant itself is extremely small with a small outdoor patio. It has the ambiance of a typical college eatery. What it doesn't have is typical college eatery food. They make their soups fresh daily and had about eight different varieties. Between the the three of us we had cream of broccoli, she-crab, and tomato bisque. All three were excellent! I also had a turkey club sandwich and my wife had the caprise sandwich both excellent. If you're looking for a light meal at a great price while exploring downtown Charleston Ladles would be hard to beat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwwhorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ladles Homemade Soups also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ladles Homemade Soups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing