We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of LEAF - CLOSED

LEAF
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We (party of 4) ate here on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was busy but not packed. We were seated prompty (we had reservations). Our waiter greeted us in an appropriate amount of time & took our drink orders. However, he was VERY slow at delivering our food. Over 30 minutes after placing our orders, he finally came by to let us know that the food would be "out shortly." We then asked about the appetizer we ordered. He said, "oh, OK." He brought the appetizer out (apparently he had forgotten it). About 3 minutes after he brought out the appetizer, the entrees arrived. We did not see him again until we asked for the check. We were not asked if we were interested in coffee or dessert. HINT: this restaurant does not serve bread before the meal (at least we didnot get any). If you are really hungry, order an appetizer and hope that your waitperson does not forget about it.
The food overall was very good, but I doubt if we will come back here due to the poor service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edistotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    109
    39
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Genuinely Sad.....was wonderful last year!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Made a reservation as I was anxiously awaiting a repeat of the grilled Caesar salad. It was a memorable experience last year. So dissappointing when it arrived! Obviously cooked earlier in the afternoon, the "wilt" (beyond the charring) had turned brown after hours in the kitchen. It was literally drenched in caesar dressing and lacked the freshly grilled aroma (guess that's cause it wasn't freshly grilled). The cheese platter was generous in the meat department, skimpy with the cheese--should have called it a shaved ham platter. The chocolate lava cake was no too hot either.

My problem with many Charleston restaurants is a lack of consistancy--this one turned out to be like all the others--maybe good, maybe bad--always pricey for the ambiance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
355 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great indoor/outdoor space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to LEAF twice this weekend actually, once for a bridal luncheon and once for dinner b/c they were able to accommodate a party of 16. The food is good, the location is good, downtown where old Vickery's used to be. The space is nice and bright and all the doors open up so you have a good indoor/outdoor feeling going on. Lots of patio tables. With sooooo many famous chefs and foodie restaurants in Charleston, LEAF isn't any of those must-eats, but its a good consistent meal with regional and traditional favorites. Something for everyone on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wasn't easy to be acknowledged while standing at host stand for quite a while. This was frustrating since they weren't very busy at the time. Patio is wonderful and nicely shaded with plenty of tables. Unfortunately, many of the tables around us and in the back stayed dirty during our entire lunch.

Service was very slow and the blonde gentleman who waited on us, horribly lacked personality...it almost seemed as if he thought we should have felt privileged to be sitting in his section. Food was brought out twice incorrectly and he didn't seem to give a flying flip, but more irritated that we said something. Food was fantastic once it was brought to us correctly.

If they would improve their service and focus on the guest a bit more, this place would be much better. Food is great, location is awesome, and atmosphere has great potential.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palm, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walked Out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Arrived promptly with reservation but had to find the Host to get seated.....Waiter finally arrived 15 mins. later.....when he couldn't remember the Specials & acted liked he was doing us a favor serving us, we promptly exited. This place won't make it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadwickiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEAF also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing