We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than imagined!”

Charleston Pirate Tours
Ranked #54 of 229 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Charleston's most photographed guides and their parrots on walking tours in Charleston's historic district. Daily tours include Charleston Pirate History, Pirate & Ghost Tour, Daytime Ghost & History Tour, and Children's Treasure Hunt Tour, Charleston's only children's tour. Customized private and group tours are also available. Appearances on Travel Channel, A&E, Syfy, Lifetime, PBS, NPR, Fox Network.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“better than imagined!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were only casually aware of Charleston's pirate history so we thought this might be mildly entertaining and informative. NO. Way better! Eric makes the story come alive and it was fascinating. He can practically recite chapters of the great book he directed me to at the end of the tour which I read cover to cover when we got home. If you are planning a trip to Charleston, this is a DO NOT MISS! (Unfortunately it was to cool on the day we toured for the parrot to ride on his shoulder, otherwise perfect experience!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pots_and_momo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're so glad that you enjoyed the tour. Sorry the weather prevented Capt. Bob from touring with you. If you make it back to Charleston, give us a call, and we'll do our best to schedule a meet-and-greet with Bob for you.

Again, thank you...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    39
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very well done - very entertaining”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Eric is not just a walking encyclopedia on Pirates, but also a good entertainer. He made great effort to make the tour relevant for everyone, skillfully wove in Charleston sites, Pirate history and other history and created a good 2 hour tour. For our 5 year old it was starting to get a little long but the 2 hours passed like a breeze. Well done all around - pricing is quite reasonable relative to the good entertainment value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed it! Eric does work hard to keep guests of all ages engaged, and we appreciate your kind words.
Best...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Eric was a great storyteller and tour guide. I could have listened to him for many more hours!! I learned so much in the short time we had for the tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We're so glad that you enjoyed the tour!

Thank you for taking the time to post...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, VA
1 review
“Highly recommend - family friendly and a great way to see the city”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband, 2 children (3 & 1) and myself had only a few hours to see downtown Charleston. We chose Eric's pirate tour and it was PERFECT. In just 2 hours we saw lots of great highlights without wearing out my 3-year-old's feet and my history-buff husband got a great balance of history/pirate lore. The tour was very kid friendly....Eric pointed out "potty breaks" when needed and there was lots of open space for my little ones to work out the ants in their pants without disturbing the group. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're glad that you and your family enjoyed the tour. One of the great things about Charleston is the fact that you can see so much on a relatively short walk!

Again, thank you...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“history comes alive”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I booked the Pirate/ghost tour with Erielast night. Wow the information was very interestingfor both adults and kids. The adults were engaged and the kids were wide eyed. I askedEric if he was a researcher on pirates or a story teller. His reply was BOTH... my wife really liked the ghost stories. MY only problem was we did not get to see the pariot...Arrrrrr!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank clantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour. Sorry you didn't get to see Capt. Bob, the parrot. He can't go on the evening tour because it's past his bedtime, and he gets VERY cranky.

If you're still in town... or if you return in the future, give us a call. I'll arrange a meet-and-greet with Bob or Doozer (our yellow-naped Amazon).

Again, thank you...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Pirate Tours also viewed

Seabrook Island, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Pirate Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing