We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour; Lots of knowledge”

Charleston Pirate Tours
Ranked #54 of 229 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Charleston's most photographed guides and their parrots on walking tours in Charleston's historic district. Daily tours include Charleston Pirate History, Pirate & Ghost Tour, Daytime Ghost & History Tour, and Children's Treasure Hunt Tour, Charleston's only children's tour. Customized private and group tours are also available. Appearances on Travel Channel, A&E, Syfy, Lifetime, PBS, NPR, Fox Network.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour; Lots of knowledge”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Eric and Bob the parrot, were definitely very knowledgeable. Our tour started promptly and was filled with exciting historical stories and facts about the pirates that visited and plundered Charleston and surrounding waters. My wife and sister were hesitant about this tour but ended up loving it. They were enthralled with the stories and presentation. If you think this tour is for kids, think otherwise. Kids may get bored, lots of facts and information. Didn't realize there was so much interesting information..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl_MTPSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw. We're glad that your group enjoyed the tour. Folks are usually surprised about the amount of pirate history in Charleston!
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    39
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow! We decided to leave a bit later than originally planned due to the fact our 6 year old sons wanted to learn about pirates. Hands down, out of the four tours we went on here, this was BY FAR the best...and perhaps the best we have EVER been on. Eric, our pirate clad guide (and Bob the Parrot) met us at the Powder Magazine Museum (small, interesting, and very friendly) and our 2 + hour walking tour began. We stopped plenty of times in front of great landmarks (and always shady areas) were Eric entertained a mixed age group with historical accounts of pirates that walked Charleston, such as Black Beard, Stede Bonnet, and Anne Bonny. My ten year old daughter and twin six year old boys thoroughly enjoyed it and NEVER asked, "When is this over?" It takes a wonderful story teller who is an expert in their field to be an awesome tour guide. Eric is this and much more as he was able to draw us all in and keep us engaged. He encouraged questions and had no issues answering any of them. All felt welcomed and all of us left understanding more of the history of Charleston and the pirates that walked about their streets and sailed the seas. A true must for anyone considering ANY type of tour in Charleston. Being a history major and a mother to three children, it can be difficult to meet all my expectations, but this tour did, and then some! It is 100% worth your time! You
won't regret it. Money well spent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toddandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that your family enjoyed the tour! We're thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and truly appreciate your kind words.
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Beautiful Parrot!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The tour was great! Lots of information! Our guide was very informative and fun!! The history of the pirates was very interesting and Captain Bob was a beautiful parrot! Great day- check it out!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vbkate725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed the tour and meeting Capt. Bob. Thank yyou for taking the time to write a review.
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Entertaining and full of history”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our pirate tour. Eric knows his history and it was fun to learn about the history of the pirates of the charleston area. You walk through the historic district and he also give you information on buildings in the area. You get a different perspective of the history from this tour. Our family would definately do it again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank portagemomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I saw that you also reviewed the Powder Magazine and the Old Exchange Building. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the tour and the two museums. We are very proud to partner with both of these historic sites.

Hope we see you again in the future!
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome ghost and pirate tour! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family, including a 6 year old boy, thoroughly enjoyed the 7:30 PM ghost and pirate tour! We would definitely do it again! We had to reschedule due to heavy rain. The company is very accommodating....just wanting us to have a good experience. Eric held everyone's interest and welcomed questions. I cannot say enough good things about the tour....spell binding, factual, knowledgeable, fun, money well spent! Thanks for a great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed the tour! We appreciate your flexibility in rescheduling around the the recent "monsoon!"

Thank you for taking the time to post a review!
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Pirate Tours also viewed

Seabrook Island, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Pirate Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing