We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour, arrrrgh”

Charleston Pirate Tours
Ranked #55 of 223 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Charleston's most photographed guides and their parrots on walking tours in Charleston's historic district. Daily tours include Charleston Pirate History, Pirate & Ghost Tour, Daytime Ghost & History Tour, and Children's Treasure Hunt Tour, Charleston's only children's tour. Customized private and group tours are also available. Appearances on Travel Channel, A&E, Syfy, Lifetime, PBS, NPR, Fox Network.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tour, arrrrgh”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Found this tour on Trip Advisor and thought we'd give it a try. My husband and I are big history buffs and the idea of wandering the streets of Charleston listening to pirate stories was appealing. My only concern was the heat and the amount of walking (we're not as young as we used to be).
Eric was great. He made sure we walked at a leisurely pace, in the shade and most times stopped where we could sit to listen. This really allowed me to enjoy the tour.
Eric is wonderful storyteller and clearly an expert on the subject. His passion for pirates is infectious.
My favorite part of the tour was when we walked out of the pink house and a group of children on a different tour saw Eric in all his Pirate glory with Captain Bob on his arm. They almost jumped ship to join our tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review! We're glad that you and your husband had a good time. Being on your feet for 2 hours in Charleson's heat can tax anyone's endurance! That's why Eric makes sure that folks have a chance to sit during the tour.

Love the story about the kids. Eric and Capt. Bob do tend to draw a little bit of attention. When he's not in the middle of his own tour, he often poses for pictures for other tours!

Thanks, again...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    38
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Relive the Golden Age of pirates with Eric, amazing storyteller!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

While in Charleston my wife and I took 2 ghost tours and the pirate tour with Eric. The Ghost tour was not only the cheapest but by far the most entertaining and interesting. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Cameronga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review! Did you mean the pirate tour was the most entertaining or did you take Eric's Pirate & Ghost Tour? We just started doing the Pirate & Ghost Tour this month. Either way, we're glad that you enjoyed the tour!

Again, thank you...
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
1 review
“If you want to have a great walking tour and learn about pirates take this tour”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My friends and I recently went to Charleston on a vacation and we did many tours including this one and we were not disappointed. Eric the pirate was our tour guide along with his trusty macaw Captain Bob. Yes, Captain Bob is a real bird so be prepared to listen his various noises including "Hello Bob." Eric is a very informative guide on the history of pirates in general and is thorough on his tales of those with ties to Charleston. He is good about tying the different stories together. This tour was about 2 hours but doesn't feel like it. We walked around many historic places in the city including the Old Slave Mart, the Old Exchange, and the Pink House. We also got to walk into the Pink House and behind to their garden. Eric will gladly answer any questions you have and he and Bob will take a picture with you at the end if you want. I'm pretty sure this is his own small business so if you love history and pirates take this tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lkmyers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed the tour! Yes, Capt. Bob can get a little chatty. What's really funny is when Capt Bob wolf whistles at someone, and that person thinks that Eric did it! When he tells them that it was the bird, they just look at him like he's crazy.

You're absolutely right that Charleston Pirate Tours is Eric's own business. Actually, it's a family business with Eric on the front lines and me (Eric's wife) behind the scenes. Thank you for supporting small business! And thank you for the nice review.

Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some interesting history you probally did not know about.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This is fun, especially if you are into pirates. If you are not, it is still a great time. Great for adults and kids.

Helpful?
Thank WagsFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Yes, Charleston's Colonial Period history, including that of pirates, often gets overlooked, so our tour does concentrate on that period... we love that part of the city's past!

We're so glad that you enjoyed the tour and truly appreciate the review.
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ghost & Pirate Tour”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Kids (ages 10 & 13) loved it. Interesting info. about Charleston. My 10 yr. old got slightly spooked, but he loved it. Eric and Sabrina were very nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCFamily0f6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOPnative, Owner at Charleston Pirate Tours, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Glad the kids enjoyed the tour! Hope the youngest wasn't too spooked. Thanks so much for posting the review.
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Pirate Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Seabrook Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Pirate Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing