We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, good food, cheerful place for a quick bite to eat.”
Review of Fuel

Fuel
Ranked #126 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fuel (new restaurant) 211 Rutledge Ave. Charleston, SC 29403
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, good food, cheerful place for a quick bite to eat.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Found Fuel nearby our B&B thanks to the innkeeper. On the first night after a late check in it was just the right place. The hangout for students was just as welcoming to the "older generation" with pleasant staff, good wine and a killer black bean soup and Bloody Mary. For the young at heart it was a real find and so close to the inn that we revisited on two more occasions. Consistently good. No stuffed shirts allowed :) Recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SP666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    214
    68
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food Great service.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Was in Charleston for a few days and stumbled across "Fuel" it was young and vibrant and laid back at the same time! The food was great and the staff were very good and charming and enthusiastic. The outside eating area at the back was really nice for a sunny lunch. Their "Bloody Mary's" were excellent ! We ended up going there three times in seven days, that kind of speaks for itself! Would highly recommend it for easy going, fun and good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I gave Fuel a try because we saw it on Diners Dives and Drive Ins. I am glad we did. The food was great the out back seating was very quaint. The service was very goodd and they had a wonderful margarita!

Helpful?
Thank TCfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great outdoor area and food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Loved this local spot! Food was great and staff was super nice as well. I had a great meal and so did my wife. This is a great spot to watch a game with friends and relax. If I lived near by this would be my hangout spot for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhatPatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice idea, great food : )”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After noticing a review of this place in some rental recommendations I read through, I decided I would take my dog (Baxter) here & have dinner. Read several good reviews about their food so it seemed like a winner. I was very impressed. I went for a late afternoon dinner here & my dog was the only one there. There werent many people yet since it was a work day & little too early for the after work crowd.
I ordered a mixed drink made with ginger beer & started the meal with some plantains after reading they were not to be missed. They were sweet & caramelized & Bax & I had trouble waiting for them to cool down, but they were worth the wait. That drink (wish I could remember the name!) really hit the spot too.
Being in Charleston, seafood was my goal & I passed up the terrific looking shrimp tacos for what turned out to be a fantastic taco plate with mahi mahi. The fish was cooked to perfection, & along with it came avocado, pineapple salsa & shredded red cabbage. It was fantastic & Bax was happy he got to sit next to me while I ate. He doesnt even get that at home : )
I also got a grilled tuna salad to go & had that later on & it was excellent too. I recommend this as a necessary Charleston stop for a great meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxp5769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing