We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Carriage Ride Ever!”

Carolina Polo and Carriage Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.00*
and up
Historic Carriage Tour of Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolina Polo and Carriage Company is the only carriage company in Charleston owned and operated by Charlestonians whose families have been here since the 1600's.Don't just take a buggy ride, come see the real thing as we show you sights that will leave you breathless and tours that will leave you speechless. Private carriages are available for tours, weddings and other festive occasions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful visit to Kiawah Island and Charleston SC. Our carriage tour was to start at 5:15 on Thursday 11 July. The driver/tour guide and carriage arrived at 5:30. It was a hot day and no shade and no where to sit while we waited. No apologizes were given! .....the driver asked how old our youngest grand daughter was and thought we should sit at the BACK because "kids that age (3) always scream" etc. We told him she would be fine and he said "yeah thats what everyone says!" So we loaded our party of 7 in the back. BTW our grand daughter didn't make a peep the entire ride.
NEXT "Lighting".... I think that is what he told us his name was... told us we would not be seeing any of the historic area of homes as he didn't want to get caught in that district after 6pm as he would get a $1500 fine. WELL THEN let me see.... maybe the guy that booked our tour might have mentioned that? MAYBE the driver should have been on time? Just a thought! The drivers whining about the $1500 fine went on for many minutes. So instead we saw..... alleys.....buildings with no meanings and a lot of personal chatter from Mr Lighting! We were even on the streets with cars in the shopping area at one point. It was awful and very disappointing! And at the end.... he "asked" for tips! Needless to say we gave NOTHING as he gave us NOTHING! FIND ANOTHER CARRIAGE COMPANY! This one takes your money and doesn't care what kind of experience you have!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank JC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 151 reviews
"great tour"
in 84 reviews
"history teacher"
in 27 reviews
"carriage company"
in 36 reviews
"other companies"
in 19 reviews
"different routes"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 26 reviews
"historic charleston"
in 28 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 12 reviews
"hour tour"
in 16 reviews
"rainbow roll"
in 20 reviews
"chico"
in 37 reviews
"ride"
in 152 reviews
"gibbs"
in 26 reviews
"picasso"
in 23 reviews
"lottery"
in 47 reviews
"information"
in 69 reviews
Filter

927 - 931 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were glad to get a quick departure time; however, it turned into a lengthy wait. Our carriage was 20 minutes late. Thankfully, Evans jumped in and took over our carriage. He's a native South Carolinian and was quite knowledgeable about the area. He interacted well with the group.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The number one worst tour I have ever been on. Lacking history, the tour mainly focused on who build the homes and how much they now cost to purchase. The young gal who gave our tour was seriously in need of an education. Also, the way that she referred to people who were enslaved made me feel sick, especially when referring to huge number people who died on their way to Charleston to be sold as slaves, and the insulting way she spoke about a genius carpenter who built a free-standing stair case that could not be rebuilt by the finest carpenters today. I was appalled by her manner of talking, as if slaves were not human beings capable of intelligence and feeling. Please choose a different tour company.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank marysue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCC, Manager at Carolina Polo and Carriage Company, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Mary Sue,
Firstly,we want to thank you for choosing Carolina Polo and Carriage Company and also for taking the time to write your review. Secondly, we would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments regarding the content of your tour.

Every one of our tour guides is licensed by the city of Charleston and maintains a comprehensive knowledge of historical events that affected Charleston and how they shaped our culture and our communities including the revolutionary war, civil war, natural disasters, colonial African American history and the transatlantic slave trade. We believe that each of our tour guides strives to educate our guests with a truthful and accurate account of history in a tasteful and appropriate manner, which in the context of the slave trade may be unsettling, but is never meant to offend. We are regretful that your interpretation of the events was contrary to the efforts of our guides.

Additionally, many of our guests are fascinated by the large private homes they see while on tour of the residential areas of downtown Charleston and are naturally curious about the ownership history and the current value of these homes. We apologize if that part of the tour was not particularly interesting to you. All in all, we do hope the next time you visit Charleston, you will provide us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took a carriage ride on our second day in Charleston. We learned a lot about the city from an excellent tour guide/driver. Hotels.com had one free coupon for this company and we are definitely glad that it was with Carolina Polo and Carriage Company.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank gpope_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I usually don't do the "carriage" thing when we travel in towns, but it seemed appropriate in this historical city. And it was worth it. It was very enjoyable and informative. I am glad we did it. I think our guide could of had a little bit more personality, but he was still good. Buy your tickets at the Charleston Visitors Center. You save about $5 per person. I would do it again.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank am56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Polo and Carriage Company also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carolina Polo and Carriage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing