We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great tastes, great flavors”
Review of O-Ku

O-Ku
Reserve with OpenTable
O-Ku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Radcliffe Street
Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great tastes, great flavors”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We went there on Thursday evening during "Happy Hour," busy place but, awesome atmosphere, mainly young crowd.
Pre-book a table, highly recommended.
Everything went extremely well, reception was friendly and professional.
For occasional Sushi Lovers the menu required some recommendations, which the General Manger in his very active role happily offered! We had blast starting from Cocktails "Jasmanian Devil" over the variety of appetizers (recommend Rock Shrimp Salad, Tuna tartare) to main dishes. The way the chef plays with spices and flavors in an unconventional way makes this sushi presentation special and enjoyable.
The rolls were delicious, the sashimi was even better! The dishes were melting on the tongue, so tender, so mild. Clearly worth price list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilgendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    81
    26
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“O-Ku Sushi Restaurant is a Gem in Charleston”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Centrally located on King Street, O-Ku Sushi is a great place to leave the hustle and bustle of Charleston to enjoy some really good Sushi and Asian cuisine. The restaurant interior was well done, the food was creative and tasty. It was nice to see the General Manager taking an active, on the floor role in providing his customers with a great dining experience. If you like Sushi and enjoy King Street night life, O-Ku is the place to go.

By the way, we were with a party of about 20 or so and the staff and management served us like we were a table of 4. Great job!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I have ever had”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I were visiting Charleston for a long weekend and were trying to find somewhere good and reasonably priced to eat when we came upon this place. It was FABULOUS if you like Sushi. I cant remember what the name of my roll was but it had crab, avocado, beets, carrots, and asparagus in it with salsa on top. It was AMAZING. My husband isn't a sushi fan so he had the chicken teriyaki and it was very very good too. The service was great also. The waitress did a great job explaining the rolls and helping me decide. Great choice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
652 reviews
563 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Trendy (but good) Sushi”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Very good sushi and Asian cuisine. The setting, in the heart of King Street foodville, is modern and airy. Lots of mirrors, exposed brick and wood floors. The servers are mostly young and cute, many from the College of Charleston nearby.
There are a number of starters. We chose excellent miso soup, among the best we have had. We followed that with a special, flash fried shishito peppers, tasty, with Asian spices and spreadable cheese. Healthy and delicious.
Then we went with two of the wide variety of rolls. The first was a cooked shrimp roll with a crusty potato covering. The other snapper with pickled onions and no rice. Both were excellent. In addition to rolls, there is sashimi and nigiri, a variety of entrees (short ribs, steak, chicken teriyaki, duck legs, etc.), egg rolls and dumplings. They also have specialty cocktails and good wine and sake lists. I had the sangria of the day, watermelon. Exquisite! Service is friendly. A very good sushi option.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“If you love sushi, this is THE place to go in Charleston!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had reservations since we were a party of 6 in town for a bachelorette party! We were seated immediately and our server (Shea?) helped start us off with drinks and plenty of appetizers. We were very well taken care of, the menu was thoroughly explained and everyone had a great time! We didn't have to wait long in between dishes and the food was amazing. I highly recommend O-Ku!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jlcauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O-Ku also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to O-Ku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing