We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy, but fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O-Ku

O-Ku
Reserve with OpenTable
O-Ku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Radcliffe Street
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Busy, but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Sushi in a trendy restaurant; book ahead; it gets noisy but our srever was patient in helping us choose some food we enjoyed. Would go back next time were are in Charleston. Not really for young children at night- happily mine are teenage so it was perfect for them, provided they are prepared to be adventureous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MootHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    78
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Japanese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A fabulous assortment of sushi and Japanese offerings. Oku offers the usual and many innovative interesting rolls and all are well served and delicious. Everything is fresh and tasty. The atmosphere is trendy and fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosedr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Kudos for O-KU”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The trendy upper King Street neighborhood of Charleston is where the restaurant scene is moving and shaking. Right in the middle is O-KU an upscale Japanese eatery with a hot bar scene and excellent food that bridges the distance between Japan and the low country. The place has some very unusual dishes that were truly outstanding. We tried the tempura oysters, a glazed salmon on black rice, sashimi tacos, and a crab terrine dish that were excellent. Soft shell crab rolls were good but we had the feeling one is better off trying the unusual here. The chef is inventive so save the pedestrian stuff for your neighborhood sushi parlor.
Service is attentive and the manager gets around a lot checking on the customers. Our server was helpful and friendly. The walls are brick and those looking for quiet and solitude won't find it here. It is noisy. So forget quiet conversation and feast on the vibe as you ponder how to say "y'all" in Japanese.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great sushi, cool atmosphere, excellent location on King Street, would definitely visit again; no complaints

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Williamsh201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, But I've Had Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

O-Ku is a very relaxed kind of trendy restaurant. The restaurant itself is very nicely decorated and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

My boyfriend and I attended a dinner service this particular evening. I started with the Kabocha Lobster Bisque soup and... LET ME TELL YOU... It was a very good decision. The soup itself was very much like a butternut squash soup; creamy, flavorful, hot, and filled with tasty, plump pieces of perfectly cooked lobster. It's a MUST HAVE if you love butternut squash soup and/or lobster.

Our sushi dinners were next out of the kitchen... All of the rolls were wonderful, but I feel there's a point where sushi stops being sushi and starts to be entirely too complicated. The sushi was tasty, but between the sauces, fried panko crispies, and everything else, I feel there was just WAY too much going on in my rolls. I would like it if there were a few more stripped-down sushi options. As the title of this review indicates, the sushi was good, but I feel I've had better elsewhere.

We finished the meal off with our desserts. I got the Green Tea Pot de Creme (another GREAT choice) whereas my boyfriend (I believe) ordered a seasonal Napoleon. Basically, you can't go wrong with anything off of the dessert menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheInfamousSpongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O-Ku also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to O-Ku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing