We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Husk Restaurant

Husk Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Husk Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Occupying adjacent spaces on Queen Street, Husk’s structures date back to the late 1800s. The main dining room, constructed in 1893, evokes the grandeur of Charleston, and speaks to the transformation of the city over time. Victorian details and turned columns were layered over the original Queen Anne-style façade through the years, and the buildings fell into disrepair until discovered by Husk ownership. The Neighborhood Dining Group President David Howard set into a motion an extensive remodeling effort of both. Although both buildings retain their antique charm and stately character, the renovations imbued each with a modern, minimalist theme. Like the reinterpreted food served within, each space has been laid bare, revealing reclaimed floors, original windows, and exposed brick throughout. The main house features an open kitchen with a wood-burning oven and dining room.
Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Creative!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a marvelous dinner once we got past the chill of the hostesses! Oysters were ok, not as good as ones at Cypress. Pork is the star here as appetizers ribs were to die for! My husbands pork chop was the finest he has ever had. The decor and attention to details was obvious from the stoneware to the placemats. Candice, our server, was warm, gracious and informed. A delightful experience, except for the icy reception.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,064
    793
    443
    151
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fresh Local Food with a Casual Feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pig's Ear Lettuce Wraps...delicious, a must! If you have a starter this is a great one to choose. My husband ordered this and the four of us at the table made short work of it, never mind eating our own appetizers. I had the arugula salad, it was crisp with local goat cheese and nuts. A good choice, too. We both ordered the pork, it was delicious. Although we enjoyed the pork neither one of us like the beans and rice that were sitting in a broth. It was bland. Our shared dessert was apple crisp. It came barely warm which was a disappointment but the flavourful was good. The other dessert ordered at our table was the pecan pie panna cotta. It got rave reviews. Our server was good and very knowledgeable about the ingredients and the sources. If you are on vacation book well in advance to get a table!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbinbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant not Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Husk restaurant is great. The atmosphere, food and service are excellent. The bar next door is not near as good. They only have burgers and bar food. What they have is good, but it's completely different from the restaurant. If you're looking for a nice sit-down meal, Husk restaurant is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Husk truly lived up to all the excellent ratings it has earned. The atmosphere was perfect - historic setting with contemporary style. The food was unbelievable with flavors that complimented each other perfectly. Our waiter was professional and helpful with menu suggestions. Husk is a restaurant that you don't want to miss when visiting Charleston. Tip - make reservations early, many others also LOVE this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Right next door!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Four of us dined here and the other four went to 82 Queen as we couldn't get a reservation for all 8 of us. We started with the lettuce wraps with pig ears which were totally yummy. I had the flat iron steak with kale & wood fired oyster mushrooms which was very tender. My sister had the fabulous cornmeal dusted catfish which was served with the amazing Geechie Boy grits prepared with TN Sweetwater Valley Cheddar cheese, Fried Cabbage and Peperonata, Espelette. Also had the buttermilk pie which we shared with the table. The benne seeded rolls were wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husk Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Husk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing