We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT take this ghost tour”

Charleston SC Tours
Ranked #86 of 224 Tours in Charleston
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do NOT take this ghost tour”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We took a tour with The Ghosts of Charleston (Tour Charleston LLC). Our guide, Kyle, was a joke. To start, he never asked to see our tickets and showed up reeking of alcohol. His toes were poking out of his shoes (and no, he wasn't wearing sandals), he was disheveled, and to tell you the truth, I'm not so sure he wasn't some homeless man who decided to take over our tour. He pulled out a raggedy book and told us the stories he would tell us were in the book. He proceeded to walk us around a section of town that apparently was devoid of ghosts but he had his raggedy book to open and show us pictures of some other place where ghosts were sighted. He did share a couple of stories that pertained to ghost sightings in adjacent buildings. But more often than not, he told us about ghost stories that happened in some other part of town or which pertained to other cities entirely. Even as we stood in a graveyard he simply read the names of the deceased from the headstones, gave some nebulous tale, and told us who else was buried there...we could have done that ourselves. He made disjointed comments as if he really had no clue what to say next, and at other times seemed to recite a memorized script. But probably most disturbing of all was when he abruptly turned to the group and announced that the tour was over, though we were quite far from where the tour originated...which was where our car was parked. So here we were, 5 women abandoned in the middle of the city, in the dark, windy and cold, and he simply pointed in the directions of major streets in order to orient us. At no time did the tour information I reviewed beforehand state that the end of the tour was anywhere other than where the tour originated. I have taken ghost tours in many cities including Williamsburg, Key West, Boston, and Philadelphia, and never have I experienced a lack of regard for the patrons' safety as I did in the lovely city of Charleston, SC. This was truly one of the most boring and overall disappointing "ghost tours" I have ever been on.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    3
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ed Grimball was the best”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent two hours with long-time tour guide Ed Grimball. His tour was absolutely amazing and the highlight of our 4 days in Charleston.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jjannotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tour with a real Charlestonian!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We took an afternoon private tour with Susan C. Lee. She is a REAL Southern Lady who is a member of the DAR and probably every committee and organization in Charleston! Susan picked us up at the Visitors' Center and we began our tour of Charleston. Susan gave us the history of the city as well as most of the homes in the Battery. She was so accommodating and gracious. Susan asked if there was anything we wanted to see. Fortunately, we told her to show us what she would like tourists to see. It was a wonderful time and I look forward to touring with her again. You can read more about Susan's tours on the Charleston Tours and Events website.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Free City Trolley Available From The Visitor Center On Meeting Street”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you Start Your Tour from The Charleston Visitor Center located on Meeting Street there are Free Trolley busses available from here that cover most of the City . You can get on and off all day and when finished they will drop you back at the Visitor Centre on Meeting Street . Ask the staff where you can pick them up as they at not inside the building itself . They are located a short walk away . I suppose if you wish you can hop on hop off anyplace you wish to see .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Dennis45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour that fit our time and interests perfectly”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had about 3 hours to "see something" outside the city on New Year's Day, before we had a late lunch and flew home, The Charleston Place concierge recommended Linda Sanders and CharlestonSCTours (www.charlestonsctours.com). Linda met us at the hotel and drove us to Middleton Place. We toured the grounds with her--she is extremely knowledgeable about history, botany, and historic architecture and preservation--then took a docent tour of the house. Linda added a great deal to our enjoyment and understanding inside and outside the house. We then drove through Magnolia to see the grounds (well worth seeing for a swampy contrast to Middleton) and back through the historic districts of Charleston, to see some of the notable houses and styles of architecture.

Three hours to the minute, she dropped us off at our restaurant!

We wish we'd had more time for a longer tour, but we feel we got great value from the one we had time to enjoy. We would definitely go with Linda again and recommend this company highly to anyone wanting something tailored to their time and interests.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston SC Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston SC Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing