We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Charleston Walking Tours

Old Charleston Walking Tours
Ranked #21 of 219 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Charleston Walking Tours is proud to offer an array of narrated walks that cover the most interesting historical issues and sights in a city known for its turbulent past and unusual beauty. Our guides are the best in the business, with years of research and storytelling experience. They promise the kind of accuracy, insight and enthusiasm that create a delightful touring experience. Let them lead you to Charleston's hidden alleys and tell you what went on behind its closed doors.The daytime walks last approximately two hours. The ghost walks are shorter (and scarier).We go rain or shine. There are no hills. The pace is easy. Please join us. You'll be glad you did!
florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hubby and I took a ghost tour with Mike Brown due to the reviews on tripadvisor. We were very impressed with all his knowledge of the city not only the ghostly areas. He gave lots of information and spoke clearly and answered any questions we had. It was a cold night but we were glad to be walking the city and seeing the sites and listening to Mike's 15+ years of knowledge of Charleston. Glad we took our first ghost tour with Mike and would recommend him to anyone who is looking for a terrific tour. Thanks again Mike for a great tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank isismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    79
    20
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
“Ghost Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great tour for belivers and non-belivers alike. Our guide was great, not a hint of irony or cheese, just sincerly good story telling. And it was a very small tour group!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
1 review
“Old Charleston Walking Tours, Homes&History Tour with Dennis Stiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dennis, our tour guide, told so many interesting stories about Charleston, the historic homes, and what life was like for the people who lived in this fascinating city from early on to nearly modern times. He kept our total interest for the whole two hours and the time just flew by. I got the impression that his knowledge of local history is almost that of someone who had actually lived in Charleston in those long ago times. Dennis obviously enjoys guiding the tours and we (wife & I), and all the folks who took the tour with us, had a great time. For anyone visiting Charleston who are interested in history and achitecture - don't miss this tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mitch_summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour.... Great Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our tour guide was very well spoken and told great stories. We did not see any ghost but learned alot about the history of Charleston. I only wish the graveyards were not locked, but this cnnot be helped

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pirateot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Way to Get an Introduction to Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We like to find some way to find out a lot about a city that is new to us. We look for guided tours that are a little more personal that the Gray Line style, and we are often rewarded with very good results. Old Charleston Walking Tours is an example of the best we have seen. Charleston is not very large, so you can cover a lot of the historic part of the city quite easily on foot. Our guide was very experienced and very knowledgeable. He was also a very good "explainer" of things. There were only three on this particular tour and we spent two hours roaming the streets and learning about the history and the current state of the city. With a small group it is also easy to ask questions and get clarifications as needed. This is money well spent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank swift98b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Charleston Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Charleston Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing