We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing tour thanks to Dennis Stiles”

Old Charleston Walking Tours
Ranked #23 of 223 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Charleston Walking Tours is proud to offer an array of narrated walks that cover the most interesting historical issues and sights in a city known for its turbulent past and unusual beauty. Our guides are the best in the business, with years of research and storytelling experience. They promise the kind of accuracy, insight and enthusiasm that create a delightful touring experience. Let them lead you to Charleston's hidden alleys and tell you what went on behind its closed doors.The daytime walks last approximately two hours. The ghost walks are shorter (and scarier).We go rain or shine. There are no hills. The pace is easy. Please join us. You'll be glad you did!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing tour thanks to Dennis Stiles”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Dennis Stlies took our group of nine on the most amazing tour of Charleston. Not only was he incredibly informative, but he was so pleasant and unrehearsed. The facts, tidbits and information was shared like it was coming from a friend teaching us about his beloved city. We all enjoyed every moment and now have such a complete understanding and appreciation of the history of Charleston. A meaningful tour from a true southern gentleman!

Helpful?
Thank JAaron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    82
    22
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Easy walking tour-not at all difficult.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This tour was easy and enjoyable.
Dennis took us into the theater, an old church, and down many streets and alleys.
The house at the end of the tour was fascinating--we truly loved the tour and our guide--I would do it again next year!

Helpful?
Thank 17wandalust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved the tour and the guide”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We only had one day in Charleston and guide helped make a combined Civil War/Historic Home tour, which was perfect. The guide was extremely knowledgable and clearly loved the town. As we walked down the street people stopped to say hello to the guide, which was really cool. Would totally do another tour with the company.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“More talking than walking; Informative, excellent value”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I really enjoyed my morning History and Homes tour, with a few caveats. First, the tour presents itself as a walking tour, but the first hour and 45 minutes for the tour covered no more than 5 or 6 blocks, which made a square around the main park (Washington Park); further, about 45 minutes of that tour was spent in the park itself. Only the last part of the tour contained about a 5-block additional walk down to the battery/waterfront. The stories told by our tour guide Dennis were excellent and entertaining (and Dennis is as well-informed as of the other reviewers claim that he is), but this tour is better suited for those who don't mind stopping (or sitting) and listening to long orations (it would be great for those with mobility difficulties who can walk, but not walk far). This tour is not at all designed for those looking to cover the city of Charleston with their feet, and, being in the latter category, I was disappointed to spend 2.5 hours covering a small section of the city.

Second, and related, the tour is billed on the website as 2 hours, including an interior of a Charleston home. However, our tour was 2.5 hours *followed by* the interior of the Charleston home, which added an additional 30 minutes, bring the tour to three hours. Thus, the tour is excellent value for your money, but the time length isn't accurately explained on the website, and so those with other engagements might feel time-pressed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice walk through Charleston History”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

You can't beat having a local tell you all about the history and architecture of the old city. Self-guided walks just can't give you the person details of many of the sites. Its inexpensive and worth the short 1.5 hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cobra888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Charleston Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Charleston Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing