We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our day!”

Tabbuli Grill - Mediterranean & American
Ranked #225 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper Concord Street
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Made our day!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We drove to Charleston from New York City for our first vacation in 17 years. Although we arrived in Charleston around midnight we were elated. Alas, that feeling didn't last long when everything went wrong at our hotel culminating in our having to evacuate it in the middle of the night because of a fire alarm. Try getting a hotel in Charleston on the same day for an entire family.

By chance, while walking, or rather stumbling around downtown Charleston, exhausted, cranky and starving (we hadn't eaten or slept in well over 36 hours), we came across Tabbuli and were drawn in because as vegetarians we saw many options. When our greeter casually said, "How are you?" I responded, "You don't really want to know." He replied, "I do," and sounded quite sincere. So I told him. We were ushered in, treated like royalty and ate some of the best humous we'd ever had. Indeed everything we ate from the Greek salad to the falafel was excellent. But best of all was the incredibly warm, kind and friendly staff. Our waitress, who just recently moved to Charleston, was a delight. Our mood was uplifted, including that of our 14-year-old son's, and our attitude about Charleston much improved for the better. Before leaving Charleston, we may return to Tabbuli.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveWell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    97
    34
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing Food - Terrible Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Let me start by saying the food here is great. I grew up in the Middle East (in Qatar) and the food at Tabbuli is exactly what I would expect to find downtown in the Souq in Qatar. However, I've been there twice, and both times the service was absolutely terrible. My wife and I went most recently on a slow afternoon, were seated, and then ignored for about 20 minutes before I asked someone to serve us. The worst part is, all the outside servers, the bartender, and even a manager were all outside, standing around the bar, talking, dancing, and not doing their jobs. After I let them know that we were sitting there without service, they just said, "sorry" and then served us. I worked in the restaurant business for roughly 5 years, and if we had forgotten to serve someone that long they would have eaten for free! They did nothing for us, and then asked us to rate them on tripadvisor! So here I am. Great food. Terrible service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-Tanya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place was a blast!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place was a blast! Great food, wonderful atmosphere, amazing service! Taboo Tuesdays are the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JordanAlyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“From Charleston to Mediterranean in one step”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Talk about feeling like you're on vacation...while you're on vacation! This was one of the few stops I made on nice relaxing day of touring the area's good spots to have a drink. While I did not eat here, the service was still very attentive and made sure my table was taken care of. The real selling point is the ambiance. The place is gorgeous. You are outside for the most part, and the place has plenty of tropical plants, and a very nice rock/water formation smack in the middle of the main seating area. The best part was you didn't feel how hot it was outside compared to other places. Great spot!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A favorite Sunday brunch spot”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This is one of our favorite spots for Sunday brunchlove their bottomless mimosas. They have great appetizers food and a great atmosphere!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabbuli Grill - Mediterranean & American also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tabbuli Grill - Mediterranean & American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing