We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sweet Ending” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakehouse Charleston

Bakehouse Charleston
Ranked #7 of 20 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: The perfect spot for coffee & pastries or a light lunch.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Sweet Ending”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My traveling companion and I were looking for a sweet ending in Charleston and 3 business recommended this place to us. It had a nice ambiance to it. My companion had a cup of coffee and a lemon square and I had a blood orange Italian soda and a cake truffle. We also shared a chocolate cookie. Everything was delicious and was the perfect sweet ending to or day in Charleston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patriotsgirl58313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    48
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy coffee and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped here while strolling around downtown. Really nice decor; comfortable and welcoming. Friendly staff and, most importantly, good coffee and desserts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Unicornfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
664 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Nice bakery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good little bakery in a central location. I think it used to be called Baked but has recently changed ownership/name. Nice hot chocolate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great cappuccino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We found the cafe by chance on our walking tour though Charleston. They served the best cappuccino we got in NC and SC.
If we come back one day, this really nice cafe will definitely a point to relax and enjoy coffee for us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
344 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Cute Coffee Shop - Take a Break from Starbucks! :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stumbled upon this local coffee shop between appointments downtown, and am so glad I did. They had several gluten free treats, of which I opted for the coconut macaroon (delish!) and a cup of joe. They have a few tables that can be private and a window front bar area for solo visitors, as well as long benches meant for sharing. I'm a sucker for an independent local coffee shop so loved this break from Starbucks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakehouse Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bakehouse Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing