We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bakery”

Saffron Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #167 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Telephone 843-722-5588. Place is great & big. It also includes a Mediterranean market
Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic bakery”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place had great food, a really friendly staff, and fantastic freshly baked goods. We ended up eating here several times during our one-week vacation, for lunch, but mostly for breakfast, despite the fact that our hotel offered free breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank m_trip_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    80
    36
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Bakery and Middle Eastern Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love going to Saffron. The bakery has an awesome selection of pastries, and the desserts are outstanding. The Tiramisu is some of the best I have ever had! If you sit down for a meal, I recommend the lamb kabobs. It takes a little bit of time for them to properly cook the kabobs, but it is worth it when they come out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dervin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams Run, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I ate breakfast here last saturday morning. I had heard good things about the place and had been aiming to try it for years. I ordered an omelot and my girlfriend got the croissant sandwich. Scrambled eggs and a huge hunk of country ham on a homemade croissant. It was so big, she could only eat half of it. And my omelot was possibly the best I've ever had in my life. With homemade whole wheat toast. Excellent iced tea. The waiter was a low key soft spoken fellow who did his job very efficiently. I was most impressed with the entire experience. We'll be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just another restaurant”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast. Been here before. It was better this time. We all had pancakes and bacon. The pancakes were a tad dry and the bacon was ok. Nothing special here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a casual cafe which is convenient after a harbour tour as you head back towards the Market area.
In addition to the menu items they have a wonderful range of cakes beautifully displayed.
Everything we had was fresh and tasted great. We experienced good servcie from a young staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcall43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Saffron Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing