We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service, fantastic fudge”

Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream
Ranked #6 of 36 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Downtown
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Poor customer service, fantastic fudge”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Quite possibly the best fudge I've ever tasted. However, customer service was non-existent; no greeting ( I was the one with the smile and " hi, how are you!" Response? Blank stare. Wow.)
I'm old- fashioned. I like to be greeted and I like friendly service.
I won't reward terrible service, therefore, I shall find somewhere else.
What a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluefieldread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    87
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Ice Cream with the Waffle Cone is GREAT”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a full day of touring this was the perfect topping. We stopped by for some ice cream (many different flavors) in the waffle cones. The single scoop is a meal by itself. The chocolate dipped apples are also great. Well we will worry about the diet next week.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mickey_slept_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“double scoop please”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We always go for the seasonal icecream,,,peach, pumpkin, etc
Always so delicious and the employees there are so nice. A great place to go for a sweet treat!! The pralines are yummy too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gr8momof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninety Six, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely the BEST fudge ever! So in LOVE with this little spot of heaven. Definitely returning again on our next visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GinoandDanielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Homestyle Ice Cream - Great Flavors”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

OK, so I'm from Florida, and we have Kilwin's here, too. The Toasted Coconut is out of this world - my all-time favorite ice cream flavor. This shop is small, but has a nice system, gets you in & out fast, even with a line of folks. The ice cream was solid, too, not half-melted, which really helps in the Charleston heat. Give it a try - highest recommendation!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing