We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to spend two hours”

Charleston Footprints Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 224 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanting historic Charleston comes alive on entertaining and informative walking tours with 7th-generation Charleston native Michael Trouche. Discover stunning architecture, glorious gardens, Civil and Revolutionary War sites, cobblestone streets, wrought iron gates, legendary graveyards, and the local flavor of the fabled “Holy City” that no one knows better than Michael, who grew up in the famous "South of Broad" area, and has written two popular books on Charleston, where his family has lived for more than 215 years. Michael won numerous prestigious awards as host of the acclaimed "Carolina Camera" television program for 20 years on the local Charleston CBS affiliate, and has charmed tour guests for 10 years with his unparalleled knowledge of South Carolina's history, culture, plants and animals, as well as colorful insights, locations and anecdotes that only a lifelong Charleston native would truly know.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great way to spend two hours”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Michael was very knowledgeable about the history and you can tell he truly cherishes his historical tie to the city. He is a good, clear speaker! We learned a little history and archterical insights that would have gone unknown had we just walked around by ourselves. I thought he did a nice job of incorporating our members by name into questions and insights. It would have been nice to get inside one of the courtyard areas though I know that's a stretch with so much of the properties being private. I would recommend him to others!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danna1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chasfootprints, Owner at Charleston Footprints Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. Because most of historic Charleston is private property, the tour does not go into private areas. We typically have ample opportunity to explore areas such as Stoll’s Alley, St. Philip’s graveyard or Longitude Lane, and depending on days when open, the interiors of the Dock Street Theatre, St. Michael’s Church and the French Huguenot Church. With so many wrought iron gates and open spaces, much of Charleston’s garden and courtyard beauty can easily be enjoyed from the street.
Regards, Michael Trouche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,754
    87
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Marvelous insight into historic Charleston”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Michael Trouche shows his strong connection to his community in everything he does throughout this excellent walking tour of historic Charleston - I can't recommend this tour enough.
Michael is a 7th generation native of Charleston - in fact he showed us the house he grew up in. As we walked up and down the lovely streets of the area, at various time he stopped to talk to people driving by.
His knowledge of the area is extraordinary and even when asked questions out of the blue, he was able to provide detailed information of the people and architecture of this historic area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
573 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Excellent overview”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

There are so many walking tours in Charleston that it is hard to pick just one and I suspect most are very good. I chose Michael's based on the TripAdvisor reports and was not disappointed. As for content, he is very knowledgeable and covers a lot of territory in two hours, providing history and architectural insights. The only building you enter is the Dock Theater where he was once an actor, but he points out a few of the historical buildings you can enter on your own. As for pace, he moves very quickly so you don't want to dawdle but it is possible to take pictures and catch up. No one was handicapped or slow on our tour but I imagine he would have to slow down and drop something off the tour if there is.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great way to spend two hours!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

It was a beautiful day in Charleston, and I grabbed the last spot on the 10:30 tour when I knew I could get downtown in time. Michael was very knowledgeable as well as entertaining. His stories were fascinating, and it was amazing how on every block someone passing by either on foot or in a car stopped to greet him. I would highly recommend his tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tour!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A wonderful walking tour of Charleston. The tour guide, Michael Trouche, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We enjoyed every minute of the tour. Very highly recommended!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Footprints Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Footprints Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing