We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully informative tour from local native”

Charleston Footprints Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 224 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanting historic Charleston comes alive on entertaining and informative walking tours with 7th-generation Charleston native Michael Trouche. Discover stunning architecture, glorious gardens, Civil and Revolutionary War sites, cobblestone streets, wrought iron gates, legendary graveyards, and the local flavor of the fabled “Holy City” that no one knows better than Michael, who grew up in the famous "South of Broad" area, and has written two popular books on Charleston, where his family has lived for more than 215 years. Michael won numerous prestigious awards as host of the acclaimed "Carolina Camera" television program for 20 years on the local Charleston CBS affiliate, and has charmed tour guests for 10 years with his unparalleled knowledge of South Carolina's history, culture, plants and animals, as well as colorful insights, locations and anecdotes that only a lifelong Charleston native would truly know.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfully informative tour from local native”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our tour guide was a 7th generation Charleston native and it showed during the tour. Not only was he able to give us historical tidbits, often times he would fold in a personal touch (the place where he bought his first beer, etc.), which added quite a bit to the usual tour. The tour was two hours and we covered quite a bit of ground during that time. The tour focused largely on the historic homes and buildings south of broad and we even saw a dolphin during the tour. The guide was extremely personable and answered any questions (even some that weren't directly related to the tour!).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JdWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,788
    87
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline,MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific tour”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We wholeheartedly recommend taking this 2-2 1/2 hour walking tour of the historic district in Charleston. We did this on our third day there after touring a few of the highly recommended attractions. It was the perfect way to tie it all together. Michael is both funny and informative and a master of keeping to his story line while taking questions. We could easily have stayed on for more!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSBrookline_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Michael is wealth of knowledge!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

He's a native and loves his city and you can definitely tell. Great walking tour with lots of interesting little stops and tidbits. You could even see other tour guides looking over at Michael like they were trying to steal some of his lines!!! HA!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rdigglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Charleston”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We took this tour on our first morning in Charleston and it was a great introduction to the city. As everyone has said, Michael is very knowledgeable and answered every question with detailed background info. The two hours is a distillation of his knowledge because it was obvious he could have gone on more on any topic that was asked.

Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magnificent experience!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively over the years and have taken many guided tours. Last year, we were in Charleston and my wife took MIchael's walking tour; she commented that he was perhaps the best guide she had used. This year, we came back to Charleston and took the tour. Her opinion is right on target. His enthusiasm, knowledge, and ability to relate history to his tour group is remarkable. If you plan on visiting Charleston, call him without delay!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Footprints Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Footprints Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing