We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tour and perfect guide”

Charleston Footprints Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
2 Hour Dolphin Boat Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Folly River Kayak Tour
Ranked #1 of 230 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanting historic Charleston comes alive on entertaining and informative walking tours with 7th-generation Charleston native Michael Trouche. Discover stunning architecture, glorious gardens, Civil and Revolutionary War sites, cobblestone streets, wrought iron gates, legendary graveyards, and the local flavor of the fabled “Holy City” that no one knows better than Michael, who grew up in the famous "South of Broad" area, and has written two popular books on Charleston, where his family has lived for more than 215 years. Michael won numerous prestigious awards as host of the acclaimed "Carolina Camera" television program for 20 years on the local Charleston CBS affiliate, and has charmed tour guests for 10 years with his unparalleled knowledge of South Carolina's history, culture, plants and animals, as well as colorful insights, locations and anecdotes that only a lifelong Charleston native would truly know.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Perfect tour and perfect guide”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This tour was exactly what we were hoping for. A wonderful overview of the history and lore of Charleston. Michael was an excellent guide. Not only was he extremely knowledgable, but he grew up there and was able to provide great personal experiences. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dariele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,827
    90
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Charleston!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I made our first visit to Charleston in the end of October. We took Michael's walking tour as an intro to this wonderful city. We couldn't have asked for a more delightful and informative 2 hours. As a 7th generation Charlestonian, he sure knows his stuff. He is witty, entertaining but most of all loves his city and can't wait to share his vast knowledge of the history and the great stories the city holds. Don't miss it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 598marcyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charleston Footprints Walking Tour”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although we have visited Charleston before, Michael made the city truly come alive. He is descended from many generations of Charlestonians and his knowledge and love for this beautiful and historic city is remarkable. We went to several old and lovely churches, toured the South of Broad area and learned more history from Michael then any history book could ever provide. He knew lots of insider stories and made the tour both interesting and delightful. We would certainly recommend taking this tour with Michael.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of best ways to learn about Charleston”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Michael Trouche knows his stuff. 2 hour walking tour is the best way to experience Charleston.All the highlights from a man who knows and loves Charleston.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tour”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Michael's knowledge and comedic musings were a perfect combo. He grew up here, as you'll see on one of the stops, and knows his stuff. Throw in a little wit and you've got yourself an interesting tour. Learned a lot laughed a bit and he kept it lively. Reasonably priced and would highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuppyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Footprints Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Footprints Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing