We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Tour!”

Charleston Footprints Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 224 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanting historic Charleston comes alive on entertaining and informative walking tours with 7th-generation Charleston native Michael Trouche. Discover stunning architecture, glorious gardens, Civil and Revolutionary War sites, cobblestone streets, wrought iron gates, legendary graveyards, and the local flavor of the fabled “Holy City” that no one knows better than Michael, who grew up in the famous "South of Broad" area, and has written two popular books on Charleston, where his family has lived for more than 215 years. Michael won numerous prestigious awards as host of the acclaimed "Carolina Camera" television program for 20 years on the local Charleston CBS affiliate, and has charmed tour guests for 10 years with his unparalleled knowledge of South Carolina's history, culture, plants and animals, as well as colorful insights, locations and anecdotes that only a lifelong Charleston native would truly know.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Outstanding Tour!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just finished a great weekend in Charleston highlighted by a walking tour with Michael Trouche. MIchael is a great tour guide. We saw a tremendous number of interesting homes and buildings with a lot of great historical facts that we would have otherwise missed. Definitely a must do when you're in town!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    88
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great walking tour”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fantastic tour of the most interesting parts of historic Charleston, the French Quarter, the Battery, South of Broad. You'll see old houses, from the colonial period, walk along cobble stone streets and really live the history of old Charleston. Wear good shoes!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Walking History”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This walking tour is by far the best tour we have ever taken! Michael knows Charleston! As a seventh generation Charlestonian, he guides effortlessly and knowledgeably and we walked away understanding the history and beauty of the city as well as the people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our Trip”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Michael's walking tour is not only informative and educational, it's entertaining as well. We learned about the history of Charleston, the architecture of the structures, and comical stories of Michael's life. The two hours flew by. I felt as thought I was just absorbing everything he was telling us, because it was so interesting. Had I not taken this tour, I would not know a fraction of what I now know about Charleston. This walking tour should absolutely not be missed. I highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank karinocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best walking tour in Charleston!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Michael Trouche is the only person to take a walking tour of Charleston with, he is the best. The tour was very informative but not boring at all which some tours can end up being. He is able to show you so many spots that you wouldn't know were a part of the history as well as share some great stories since he is from the area. Able to answer any questions you have and was very enjoyable to have as a guide. All of my friends that come and visit the area I will be taking them on this tour again and again!

Helpful?
Thank bham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Footprints Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Footprints Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing