We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do in Charleston”

Adventure Harbor Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family fun for everyone! We offer 3 hour shell and sharks tooth hunting & history trips out to beautiful and secluded Morris Island, as well as romantic sunset and dolphin cruises. Science and eco tours for kids, and school groups that meet or exceed SC school standards as well. Definitely kid and pet friendly, too. Our vessels are perfectly suited for private charters, bachelorette and bachelor parties, anniversaries and birthday parties, any kind of get together you can think of, up to 80 passengers. Come on out and see us!
North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Must do in Charleston”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Capt. Howie is very knowledgeable and conducts an exceptional tour of Morris Island. The boat ride has great views and Capt. Howie keeps the boat entertained. This is definitely worth your time to do while in Charleston.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    24
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
“A must do in Charleston”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Captain Howe does an amazing job with kids and gives a great tour of the harbor. With a great personality and excellent knowledge of the harbor, Captain Howe will make the tour amazing. This tour is a must do event when visiting Charleston!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandon513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a great tour - just understand what it is!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an island tour, and guests walk on the beach for over an hour. The captain and his "skipper" were very knowledgeable on everything from history to sea life to fossils. There wasn't a question that wasn't answered to our satisfaction, including recommendations for restaurants. This is a great tour for families - our kids (ages 7 and 12) loved it! They didn't swim but waded in shorts and t-shirts. They learned a bunch and still talk about the tour months later. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this for older adults or for very small chldren. This is physical tour, not just a tour on a boat.

The captain doesn't just "drop you off". He, as a boat captain, stayed with the boat to move it as the tide moved and was constantly on top of the weather in case of a summer storm (which would require him to take guests to shore early). He seemed very aware and on top of things. His "skipper" escorts you on the the island. She wasn't as young as she seemed, and she was very knowledgeable.

I know that it isn't under the captain's control, but we saw so many dolphins on our way back! Just keep an eye out.

This may seem like a pricey tour, but it is a very personal tour. I can't remember exactly how many people can fit on the boat, but it was just our family of four and another family of four. I felt like this was "concierge" service since it was such a small group on a small boat (vs. our trip to Fort Sumter the next day on a very commercial boat). The only thing missing maybe is free water bottles.

The captain was very prompt returning phone calls, etc.

PLEASE BRING WATER AND SUNSCREEN. We went in the summer, and the other guests were a family from the mid-west. Being from Texas, we bring water and sunscreen everywhere in the summer. The other family was already sunburnt and left their water bottles on the boat (they brought a cooler, which is too much to carry - just bring water and drink it even if it isn't cold!). I carried our water bottles (in a backpack) and sunscreen on the island beach. I reapplied the sunscreen when we arrived at the far end of the island. The other family was miserable by the end of the tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasSangiovese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" if you're in Charleston”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tis the season for being thankful. I'm thankful that my family got to experience a trip to Morris Island with Capt. Howie. We loved every minute, from the boat ride and seeing dolphins up close to collecting all kinds of shells, shark teeth, sand dollars, etc. It was like a private tour because he gave all of us so much attention throughout the day. His knowledge of the marine life, island, and surrounding area was amazing. Our children asked him all kinds of questions and just couldn't get enough. He was very patient and made it fun for young and old! This is one activity we will do again the next time we come back to Charleston. It exceeded our expectations and I highly recommend making time for this activity. Thank you Capt. Howie for making our trip so memorable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSonSoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Best thing we did in Charleston”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

So, this review is a little late. Me and my boyfriend took a road trip through the Southeast this summer (late August) and Charleston was one of our stops. We did lots of cool stuff (walking tour or historic homes, tours of interiors of historic homes, ghost tour of the jail, ate amazing grits, fried green tomatoes, and she crab soup, etc, etc.), BUT by far the best part of our stay was Howard and Brittany's tour of Morris Island. We got to see dolphins on our way to the island and on the way back. I'm very bad at spatial reasoning, but I would say they were within 10 feet of our boat. It was very cool. Howard gave some great history of the area during our ride over. During the tour of the island, Brittany did a wonderful job of helping everyone find shells and shark teeth. She was extremely knowledgeable about the different types of shells and teeth. There were three youngish kids on our tour (maybe 6 to 9 age range), and she did a great job with them, too. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area who is looking for something fun, unique, and outdoorsy to do.

Thanks Howard and Brittany!

Colleen (and Barry) from New York

P.S. I passed the bar exam!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColleenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Harbor Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Adventure Harbor Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing