We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great combination of History and story telling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghosts of The South

Ghosts of The South
Ranked #69 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Tour Company is located in downtown Charleston, SC. And has been in business for approximately eight years. The company offers Ghost Tours nightly of the Historical District.
Beeche
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great combination of History and story telling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I are big fans of History and Ghost Tours. After searching on Trip Advisor we settled on doing a tour with Ghost of the South. Our tour guide John was one of the best guides we have ever experienced. His knowledge about Charleston was amazing. We really liked some of the pictures he had on his I-Pad showing us more details about various buildings and other sites.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haunted29401, Public Relations Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Rachel W for your review!
We love to hear positive feedback! Thanks for being such a trooper yourself and not letting a little rain "dampen" your tour experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    23
    11
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good evening activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This tour is a great way to spend an evening in downtown Charleston. John was our guide and he was friendly, knowledgable and a good storyteller. The tour was well paced without too much time between stops, which kept it engaging. My only critique would be to talk just a little bit slower - I didn't feel that the tour was rushed, though, just his way of speaking. Definitely a fun time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ghost tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My Mom and I went on this tour tonight with John and we both loved it. He was a fantastic guide! Loved all of the history of Charleston and hearing about the great fire. The visuals that he had of before and after shots were awesome. I would recommend this tour to anyone! Thanks John!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Great time! History and Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I took my 14yr old daughter and her friend and we had such a good time together. Kevin was our guide and was very knowledgeable and delivered the story of each location very well and added some good fun as well, but nothing cheesy. We have been to Charleston many times, but this was first Ghost Tour. Its a must do for sure!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Godawgs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would try another tour company next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This ghost walk was okay. Our tour guide was Kevin and he was too dramatic. He would show us a house, building, etc...tell us about it....then we'd walk a 1/2 block , he'd stop us, and tell us what he forgot to tell us about the place when we were standing in front of it. We also started out...walked 1/2 way down the block, then Kevin said we were going the wrong way and we turned back and walked back where we just came from...unorganized. It was so-so.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerStCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haunted29401, Guest Relations Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are sorry you thought Kevin was to dramatic. We encourage our tour guides to be fun and interactive. We do not hire dull or boring tour guides. We have asked other people who were on the same tour what they thought. And of this post their were no other complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghosts of The South also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ghosts of The South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing