We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun ride”

Charleston Water Taxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss the boat! The Water Taxi is the most fun and convenient way to see Charleston harbor. We run every hour between Waterfront Park/Historic district, Aquarium Wharf, Patriots Point and Charleston Harbor Resort with dolphin sightings in between. $12 All day Pass and kids 3 and under are FREE. 9Am til 8pm 7 days a week. Going Sightseeing in downtown Charleston- take the Water Taxi! Want a relaxing harbor cruise- take the Water Taxi! Going to see the USS Yorktown- take the Water Taxi! Want to see some Dolphins- take the Water Taxi! Voted Best cheapest sunset and dolphin cruise in Charleston! Come see for yourself. Boats leave daily.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went on the water taxi just so my wife would have a chance to see some more Dolphins which we did. The guys running the boat stopped for a few minutes so we could watch the dolphins which made my wife very happy. Didnt catch the guys names that where running the boat but had a fun chat with them. They were very nice and offered maps and advice for thing to do while in Charleston! Great ride for kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rapom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    122
    28
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Colinas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun boat ride.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Right after we did the Ft. Sumter tour we caught the water taxi over to the air craft carrier. We were disappointed that the taxi times for departure did not coordinate with the times we returned from the Fort. We had to wait about an hour for the taxi. Ride was nice. On the return trip we did experience a large group trying to get on the boat who had to run back to their car for a baby stroller. Half the group was on the boat. And the other half was wandering. They waited for the whole group. It was after lunch and hot and rude that the whole boat was held hostage by a group that couldn't get their act together. Ruined our experience. But the taxi was a nice way to see the Carrier.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allymypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Perfect way to travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was so convenient and the guys running the boat were very friendly and even gave us a map/guide for Charleston!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to take kids on a boat ride at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Awesome experience with our 1 and 4 year old. $10 all day pass per person. Kids under 3 (maybe 3.5) are free. The boat has a cover, goes slow, and they have a covered area to ride in during the rain (which it does a lot of in the summer). Easy stroller access, just one step to lift over. Worked out great for our little ones! Can't wait to do it again. Also, we went on a Saturday and never had a problem with a large crowd or a long wait. If you have small children, you'll be happy to know there is a nice restroom at the marina. There was no changing table, but there is a large counter space between sinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good service for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Took this to go over and visit the USS Yorktown. They run every hour and is a nice way to get a nice boat ride out on the water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Water Taxi also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing