We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Hotel Experience”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copley, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Best Hotel Experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We highly recommend Restoration on King for multiple reasons. The primary reason is the gracious and helpful staff. They were always willing to help us with whatever we asked. The second reason was the beautiful facility...it is so nicely appointed and was extremely comfortable in addition to the best location. The final reason was the numerous amenities INCLUDED in our stay. A breakfast of our choice was delivered each morning, free access to a gym that was 1/2 block away, water and soft drinks stocked in our fridge, nightly wine and cheese, access to a beautiful roof top seating area. One other mentionable was how they help us celebrate our wedding anniversary by sending a bottle of champagne to our room. If you go to Charleston SC...stay here...you won't regret it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King. I am delighted that we were able to give you such a memorable stay during your recent visit to Charleston. The Staff and Management of The Restoration on King take great pride in the service levels offered to our guests and we are always thrilled to see our guests enjoy their stay with us. I have already shared you comments to my staff. I am very happy that you enjoyed our oversized "condo" style suites and the many amenities which the Restoration on King offers. We continue to add and improve the amenities with feedback from our guest and I am happy to annouce that we now offer two IPads which are available to all of our guests during their stay.

We look forward to serving you again when you next return to Charleston. Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    87
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
215
544
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern US
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Charleston. We have been visiting the area for the last 10 years, and I can’t remember a better visit. Charleston is a charming historic city with all the modern conveniences. Great shopping, fantastic food and now a great hotel. This may be the first time (in any hotel) that I actually felt like a Guest!

The rooms at the Restoration on King are former condos, so they are equipped with everything you need (full kitchen, sitting area, large bedroom, large private bath). The manager met us at the room to ensure our satisfaction. They directed us to a new restaurant that was fantastic (Fig).

Continental breakfast was included. The coffee was very ordinary and the pastries were not great, but there is a large coffee maker in the room, which allows you to punch it up a bit.

The real reason the stay was great is that the management actually cares about your happiness, which is how a good host treats a guest!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King, Charleston's Newest and most Unique Luxury Boutique Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very proud to annouce some recent changes which we have made as we continue to improve the services and amenities of The Restoration on King.

We have been working hard with our local bakery Saffron on all of the Fresh Baked Breakfast PAstries which are delivered fresh to the hotel each morning. Together we have recently intriduced a new menu and the response from our guests has been very positive.. expecially the new Chocolate filled croissants. Since first opening we have had a goal to use as many local services as possible and as of today I am very proud of many of the "Rok's" new partnerships. We are about to intriduce the new "RoK House Blend" coffee along with our new partnership with the Chrleston Coffee Roasters. Other new local service providers include the Charleston Cookie Company, The Charleston Nut Company, The Charleston Tea Plantation and Christophe Artisian Chocolates.

We look forward to serving you again and.... serving you our new "RoK House Blend" coffee when you next return to Charleston. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the Restoration on King during our Charleston getaway. While we enjoyed the room, the breakfast was hands down one of the least interesting we have ever had at a hotel that is aiming to attract the upscale or boutique market. The croissants tasted as if they were made with lard or hydrogonated oil rather than real butter; the scones were quite heavy and dry, even for scones; and the danishes were anything but delicious and fresh. Even the coffee delivered blandness rather than the wonderful punch or rich flavor we are used to in upscale hotels. Fix the breakfast and this has the potential to be a go to place in Charleston; until then, you can get better value for your $ elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Always_on_the_go_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Restoration on King and your Continental Breakfast Picnic Basket. I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast and wish this had been brought to our attention so that we could have further addressed it to your satisfaction. The Staff and Management of the Restoration on King take Great Pride in serving our guests and the quality of our accomodations and all of our amenities.

All of our Fresh Baked Breakfast Pastries are delivered to the hotel fresh daily (6 times per week) by one of Charleston's largest and most reputable bakeries who, along with the Restoration on King, also provides baked fresh breakfast items to many of Charleston's upscale Retaurants and Hotels. The decision to use this particular baker was never about price but rather about their reputation, quality, consistancy, ability to deliver daily and the variety they offer enabling us to offer our guests the variety to enjoy many different choices from Fresh Butter or Cheese Croissants, Blueberry or Cranberry Scones, Bananna Nut, Blueberry, Cranberry or Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins, Cheese, Apple, Blueberry or Pecan Danishes to Plain, Cinnamon Raisin, Sesame or Everything Bagels. Additional items, not from our baker incluode Raisin Bran, KAshi and Toasted Oats cold cereals, Plain, Strawberry or Parfait Yogurts, Ganola, Cottage Cheese, Fresh Fruit Plates and of course a variety of Cold Juices, Hot Coffee and Charleston Tea Plantation Teas.

I want you to know that I have called a meeting with our Baker to discuss the concerns brought up in your review and I have also set an appointment up with one of only a few bakers large enough to also serve our guests at The Restoration on King. The Staff and Managment consistantly strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and I am saddened if we did not meet your expectations when it came to our breakfast pastries but I can assure you that we are looking into this matter as we continue to improve the amenities and service provided to all of our guests at The Restoration on King.

I hope you will allow us an oppurtunity to win back your loyalty and trust on your next visit to our wonderful city of Charleston, SC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My friends and I went away for a girls weekend in Charleston and chose The Restoration based on its location and its website. We were even more impressed when we arrvied. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was spacious and the decor was beautiful. It truly felt like we were at home for the long weekend - except that you didn't have to make the bed! The staff was great - from answering any questions, to the wine and cheese in the evenings to the cookies and milk. Oh, and don't forget the morning breakfasts - which are brought to your room in an picnic basket. This is absolutely a must stay for Charleston!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King during your recent "Girls Getaway". I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed one of our Luxury Two Bedroom Suites while visiting Charleston. Our Two Bedroom "Condo" style suites have become quite popular for "Girls Getaway" trips with the 2 or 2 1/2 baths and one even has a balcony.

We look forward to serving you and your friends again soon when you next return to our wonderful city of Charleston. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2010

After checking trip advisor we decided to stay at the Restoration on King for our anniversary. I can't say enough about this hotel...when we arrived from a long drive there was wine and cheese/crackers awaiting us. The room was absolutely beautiful and spotless. The staff had remembered it was our anniversary and left us a bottle of champage on ice!!!! Our room had a patio which we sat and drank overlooking Charleston!!!! After dinner, we arrived to find warm cookies for our late night treat. Breakfast arrived at the scheduled time in a picnic basket. The staff at the hotel were very attentive and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picadillyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King, Charleston's newest and most unique Luxury Boutique Hotel. I am delighted that we were able to give you such a memorable stay on such a special occassion as your anniversary. Our One Bedroom Suites with a Balcony offer a wonderful retreat when the weather begins to cool in the evenings as well as offering a wonderful location for Breakfast to be served or a romantic dinner for two with your own Private Chef.

We look forward to serving you again soon when you next visit our wonderful city of Charleston. Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The suite was absolutely beautiful and clean. The staff was great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. It's a great place to stay, you will enjoy every part of your visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdnbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I took my daughter, my 15 year old granddaughter and her friend to Charleston on a "ghost hunting" trip which we have done together since my granddaughter was 6 years old. While we have stayed in many places and certainly have made some great and funny memories, I have to say the Restoration on King was one of the biggest surprises we have encountered. Most places that advertise online usually look entirely different when we arrive, but the Restoration pics are 100% true. I think it is really prettier and nicer than one can imagine online. We were advised the one bedroom would be roomy enough for the 4 of us (FOUR FEMALES!). One bathroom was a little testy to say the least, but the entire area was so spacious it actually became quite cozy. The great staff provided a comfy cot in the living area which created a comfortable room for the girls. My daughter and I shared a wonderful king bed. Everything is top of the line from the appliances to the flooring. They even supplied access to a local gym/spa, only a few steps away, which we enjoyed every morning. The location is right in the center of King Street which created a lot of additional shopping..... but no one complained! We had a fabulous week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pad4058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLetts, Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King. I am delighted that you, your daughter, granddaughter and her friend enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to Charleston. The Restoration on King was originally designed to be Luxury COndominiums and I must say that we indeed had a very talented architect and then when it was converted to a hotel we also had the assistance of a wonderful local interior designer. And when you next return, ask us about one of our Luxury One Bedroom Suites with 1 1/2 Baths...

We look forward to serving you again when you next return to Charleston. Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
438 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing