We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveler rating
1,148
142
56
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,148
142
56
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic basket breakfast basket full kitchen king street washer dryer rooftop restaurant wine and cheese boutique hotel each morning exposed brick cookies bedroom suite the general manager breakfast delivered living area home away from home favorite hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our Florida Bar Family Law Section out of state retreat at this hotel. It was the perfect location for a small retreat (30-50) people. It has every amenity that you can image. The rooms are beautiful while reminding you of the history and culture of Charleston. I would highly recommend this hotel. The food was amazing and the restaurant has the best view of Charleston in town. The rooms were so nice we didn't want to leave.

Room tip: If you have the money get a suite. They are beautiful and amazingly spacious. We were there five days and were so happy we had a suite.
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnightengale, General Manager at The Restoration Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mcobird,
Thank you for your 5 star review of The Restoration. We love having the Florida Bar Family Law Group join us for such an exciting week in Charleston. I look forward to passing along your praises to our team. Thank you for being our valued guest.
Warm Regards,
Chelsea Nightengale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Lovely suites, nicely decorated, plenty of space, comfortable bed in a great location in one the US's prettiest cities; what more can you ask? Nearly forgot the staff, they're polite, knowledgeable and helpful. The 5 pm 'wine & cheese' is a very nice touch too. Central position makes it ideal to stroll to the market or one of many good restaurants (or, if you want informal, there's plenty of low priced bars and restaurants too), plus, it has its its own rooftop eatery. Yes, excellent.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank A7407ZLtonyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnightengale, General Manager at The Restoration Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Dear A7407ZLtonyl,
Thank you for your 5 star review and the photos from your suite. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our over-sized suites, we believe our Residence rooms truly give you a local experience. I'm most happy to hear our staff delivered on our promise of genuine southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Restoration upon your next trip to the Holy City.
Warmly,
Chelsea Nightengale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

Nice hotel, great staff. Front desk were very helpful, always providing information and finding ways to help. View from top floor at breakfast over the river and into the bay is great. Shenise did a fantastic job looking after our room.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnightengale, General Manager at The Restoration Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear a a,
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am most happy to hear that our team delivered on our promise to provide you with unrivaled southern hospitality. We believe our teams commitment to guest service is what truly sets us apart, I am thrilled to hear that resonated with you. I look forward to passing along your praises to Shaniece and our entire team.
Sincerely Yours,
Chelsea Nightengale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

We have stayed at a lot of boutique hotels in our travels and this one has been our least favorite. 1. Christmas morning in the restaurant: The most disturbing thing to happen to us was that FOX News was playing in the rooftop dining room on Christmas morning. What were they thinking? If their intent was to alienate folks like us then they did a perfect job because we did not return to the rooftop restaurant. If the intent was indifference then shame on them. And don't give me the old, "Well there were other stations playing. Yes, there were. HGTV, ESPN and some cooking show. If you want to air Fox News then they ought to allow other views from other points of view. They're supposed to be professional hoteliers so they might want to review their policies. 2. The room: I went to make coffee and after pulling out the coffee filter, discovered it was covered with mold because it hadn't been cleaned in eons. A most disgusting way to start one's morning. 3. The Bathroom: The door hinge was broken and the door would not shut. 4. The bedroom: The air conditioning makes such noise that one can't hear the TV. I do want to say that while the hotel disappointed us the employees were pretty great.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank joyceb975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnightengale, General Manager at The Restoration Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear Joyceb975,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your transparency and while we would have loved the chance to address these notes while you were our guest we value any opportunity to fix a fault in our operation. We have been actively addressing your concerns with the room to ensure no other guest suffers the same fate. We pride ourselves on being a community minded property and value the views of our guests and locals alike. We are inclusive of all views and would have been happy to change the channel as we did for the opposite guest whom requested Fox News. We truly appreciate your feedback and wish you a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.
Warm Regards,
Chelsea Nightengale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

What an amazing hotel. The stall is wonderful and very friendly. We had a Studio Suite Room and it did not disappoint. It is much bigger than imagined. It had all the c harm of modern warm colors but also a historical charm. The rooftop restaurant had great drinks. The breakfast was mediocre, the service made up for it. There was a gold cart if needed to take you places, we did not partake, but such a great gesture. The coffee bar was delicious, I am a Starbucks snob, but totally enjoyed my Caramel Toffee Latte.
I definitely would recommend this hotel especially for a little getaway. It will not disappoint you. It is also in a great location, very close to everything.
Cant wait to go back!

Room tip: I dont think you could go wrong with any room here.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 324tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnightengale, General Manager at The Restoration Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Dear 324tracy,
Happy New Year from Charleston! Thank you for taking the time to review The Restoration. We love hearing what you loved most about your stay. We hope upon your return visit you take us up on the Golf Cart, it's such a fun way to get around in Downtown Charleston! I look forward to passing along your praises to our team. We believe our staff and genuine southern hospitality is one of the pillars of The Restoration, I am thrilled to hear we delivered on that promise to our guests. Thank you for joining us for your stay.
Warmly,
Chelsea Nightengale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews