We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern historical rooms that are great with a baby”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern historical rooms that are great with a baby”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great week staying here. The rooms are great with a large master bedroom complete with exposed brick to muffle the screams of our sleep training 5 month old without bothering others. Restaurants are amazing and willing to make everything to go if you want to reheat in your full kitchen once the baby goes to sleep. Comfortable living room area with sectional couch and widescreen television. Includes in room breakfast daily in addition to wine happy hour and fresh cookies and port wine before bed. Local beaches were very nice also. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctrvdka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    85
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
531
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family of four stayed at this very stylish boutique hotel for a night on the way to Isle of Palms, and I was so sad to leave. First, the space was beautifully decorated and furnished (made me want to redo our condo at home) - high ceilings, lovely kitchen, great bed. The front desk staff was very helpful, and our breakfast basket was just perfect. I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this hotel having read the trip advisor reviews and found it even surpassed the reviews! The rooms are large, stylishly appointed and very comfortable. The kitchen is particularly well furnished for hotel accomodation. A central location and friendly knowledgeable staff just add to the mix. Howard, the manager, went out of his way to make our stay a welcoming one and guaranteed a return visit! Charleston is a great city, staying in ROK, makes a winning combination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location. Attentive service. Huge rooms very well appointed. Immaculately clean. Friendly staff.

I gather this place might be expanding and adding a pool which would be very welcome.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickbelluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because of nice reviews it got on tripadvisor. It did not disappoint. With its spacious and luxury rooms, contemporary interiors, comprehensive suite of services (valet parking, ticket service for the downtown carriage tours, and riverdog baseball games, etc.), closeness to everything including the oceanfront (although not as close as some of the bed and breakfast places that is in one of the traditional houses right on the oceanfront, but nothing is perfect), we really enjoyed our stay. Definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in. They also have evening wine and cheese tasting, and milk and cookie for kids as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peng_W_895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I chose the ROK after the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor and was so glad I did.

Driving into the city was easy and we were doing really well with directions (or so we thought) until we reached the waterfront! Called the hotel and spoke to Giovanna who explained that the Wentworth Street road sign had recently been removed due to some overhead works and not been replaced, which is why we missed it! She very kindly stayed on the phone and directed us right back to the hotel, where Dave assisted us with our car and luggage.

Check in was efficient and we were advised that we had been upgraded to a 2 bed suite, which was great! The hotel manager, Howard was in the lobby and also welcomed us and wished us an enjoyable stay. We have a lot of experiences of 5 star boutique accommodations but the room far exceeded our expectations. It was huge, furnishings were of a high standard and the amenities were great - bathrooms well appointed and the showers powerful - if not a little tricky to work out to begin with!

Beds were extremely comfortable with high quality linens. My husband especially enjoyed the 'white noise machine' at the bedside with all sorts of different sounds to help you get to sleep - he said it really worked!

The picnic basket for breakfast was a superb touch and you could make your choice the night before from a wide selection. Good quality continental fayre with fresh pots of coffee/tea delivered to your door each morning at your chosen time slot.

We took advantage of the beach chairs and towels the hotel provided when taking a trip to the Isle of Palms beach. Wine and cheese was provided early evening, followed by milk/cookies and Port later on which was a really nice touch.

Everything in downtown Charleston was in walking distance and if you have too much food and wine in one of the local gourmet restaurants, the rickshaw cycles can whisk you home for around $10-15. A great experience as the traffic in Charleston, unlike other American cities, is relatively sedate.

Wouldn't hesitate to return and would highly recommend to anyone looking for luxurious accommodations with attentive but unobtrusive service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location, walk to everything. Room is probably the best I've stayed in, in the states. Very luxurious, great comfy bed, impeccable service. Breakfast is great, choose from pastries,to yogurt, lots on items presented the next am in a beautiful basket. We took ours to the roof deck for a beautiful view. Great early eve complimentary wine & beer with apps then in the evening yummy cookies! Loved this place, would definitely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing