We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the Best Experiences!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the Best Experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First class boutique hotel run extremely well by Howard Letts and his wonderful staff, They were ready to help us with anything we needed. Which was rare. As they anticipated just about anything you could wish for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moderntraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    72
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
178
421
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location, Enormous rooms that make you fee like you are in an apartment, and by all rights you are as they were built as condos. Super cool place to stay and totally 100% top notch classy. This is a 4 star property likely because they dont have an on site dining room etc..... but if it did i would give it a solid 4.5+.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bufind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights and enjoyed the outstanding rooms, superior service and incredible location. Walking distance to almost everything (food, shops, museums). Would highly recommend for anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Converted condos. Great big modern comfortable rooms. Awesome roof deck. Good service. What's not to like. They went the extra mile for me. Thanks concierge and valet. I got lucky and found it on "Hotel Tonight" app for a last minute Monday stay. This hotel would be quite an oasis for a nice long weekend in C-town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom suite in March 2013 for three nights with a larger party (room 303). We were celebrating a special occasion and wanted to stay in one space together, rather than in separate hotel rooms. The suite was as advertised - spacious, clean, beautifully decorated. The service was excellent. We were shown to our room on arrival and given a brief tour with helpful tips. The fridge was stocked with water and soda and re-stocked as requested. We were able to select breakfast items each evening for the following morning. Breakfast was delivered in a picnic basket at a specified time each day - very cute! Breakfast options included pastries, yogurt, cottage cheese, fruit, etc which should please most palates. The kitchen had everything we needed. I typically don't see the value of having a full kitchen in a hotel (I like to enjoy the restaurants!), but it was great to re-heat leftovers and snacks. We took advantage of the rooftop longue area and the bikes. We also enjoyed the evening happy hour. The hotel location is great; main attractions and restaurants are within (relatively) easy walking distance. if the price doesn't intimidate you, the hotel is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ckayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The suites in this intimate boutique hotel are like sexy, high end condominiums. They have tons of living space, first rate kitchens, great beds, and (in some cases) private outdoor terraces. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and loved the personal attention and service. The hotel Is expensive, but worth every penny. The location is close to everything and we walked to every site and restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful. We plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterXAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2013 with another couple. What a fabulous boutique hotel. When we arrived we weren't sure what to expect from the entrance but what a grand surprise when we started our walk through the hotel and then to our very cool upscale condo suite. We had a one bedroom suite with a balcony. We had our friends visiting with us and it was so great to be able to enjoy the balcony for a late afternoon drink. I felt like we were staying in a place right out of a New York movie with the exposed brick walls and open spacious rooms. We absolutely loved it here. The General Manager, Howard, shared some great stories with us and was very knowledgeable about giving us ideas on where to visit and where to eat. One of our favourite things was the unique way they serve breakfast. We would order the night before and then wake up to these very cute picnic baskets filled with the items we had picked. Food, service and accommodations are all top notch. One of my favourite places that we have ever stayed. Would definitely recommend staying here. Oh, and two of our favourite places to eat were Fig & Halls Chophouse. Both were excellent! Guaranteed you will love the Restoration on King.

Room Tip: We loved our one bedroom suite on the third floor (room 307). The balcony makes the room very open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing