We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is the perfect place if you want a stylish home away from home in the heart of the old town on the trendiest and most famous shopping street in Charleston.
The loft style accomodation not only combines modern with a twist of the restored old by preserving the old exposed brick and high ceilings but is also spacious and well equipped.
The staff and front desk were impecable and the general ambience high end and sophisticated.
The two negatives I can mention which would not put is off returning however were the following: The hotel is above Gap and when they were playing music until 9pm during the Xmas period, we could hear the music very clearly. This hotel is not very quiet and there is plenty of hustle and bustle going on from the street below until probably about 10pm at night. We were also a tad disappointed with the breakfast basket which everyone raves about. The carafe of coffee bearly suppied us with a cup of coffee each. When we check "orange juice" on the order sheet, we literally got one small single bottle of OJ. So we figured out to order more precisely the next day. Other than these two slight negatives, all in all, we were very happy with our choice and would go back in a heart beat. You can not beat the location or the stylish space offered in this condo/loft type set up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spinky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

I tried staying here for New Year's Eve.

We made the reservations a few days before, showed up, but it didn't work out. Apparently their online system is not synced with their front desk, and they overbooked.

And while it still blows my mind that this can happen in 2011, they did the right thing. They were kind and apologetic. And they booked (and paid for) us to stay at another nearby hotel.

I'd still like to stay here someday.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ZuzziTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

my husband and i were there for 2 nights over new years. as soon as we arrived, i loved the place. it's clean, smells fabulous and the staff is so attentive. the location also can't be beat. things were going great tlll around 1am the first night when people starting getting home, we were literally up till 4am. the walls in this place are SUPER THIN. The same thing happened the second night (it was nye so to be expected that people would be getting in late) BUT i've never stayed at a hotel that is this loud.
*our room was 208.

When we mentioned this to the staff there was nothing that could be done since the hotel was booked but they did surprise us with strawberries and a $200 gift certificate for our next trip which was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated.

we'll stay there again but would only be on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Excellent location, superb service, and plush condominium accommodations make this a dynamite option for a Charleston getaway. Special mention goes to Cole, whose attentiveness and friendliness made our stay all the more enjoyable. Just be aware of one caveat to all the greatness: An overnight stay from 12/31 to 1/1 may or may not include a bad rooftop band playing mostly nonstop from 9pm until 4:15am, and their amps definitely went to 11...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A little gem of a hotel right in the middle of a shoppers paradise, i believe the property was a conversion from apts to hotel with a lot of origional features kept, i think it is great value for money also staff did not feel it was troublesome to help their guests. its a small hotel so everything seems so personable its like being in your own home.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thurles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This place was unbelievable - unlike any hotel experience we've ever had. It takes the idea of a boutique hotel to another level. We spent two nights there. To call it a hotel room is not doing justice to the style of accommodation. In fact, what you get is a fully furnished luxury apartment with state of the art amenities and finishes - from iPads in the hotel lobby to the exquisite showers to the lovely breakfast basket each morning. The level of service was impeccable and very personal. The furnishings are modern and super-stylish. The entire place even smells wonderful! And you can't beat the location either, right in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. We'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

By contrast to its small boutique entrance, the 15 hotel rooms, and the service are huge. From Howard (the GM) to all levels of the staff, they are always available and very eager to ensure your needs are met...just ask and it's done! The exposed brick rooms are very large (suite like) with separate bedroom, bath, fully appointed kitchen, living room, and laundry area. The decor is very well done and the rooms are well maintained. Excellent accomodation for an extended stay. Your individually selected continental breakfast is placed at your door every morning at the requested time. Complimentary wine/cheese (5 to 7) and milk/cookies (8 to 10) every evening in the lobby. The location is central to and within safe walking distance to many great restaurants (Hush, FIG, Fulton Five), shopping, and site seeing in downtown Charleston.

I would certainly recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Rooms 301 and 307 have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
511 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $275 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing