We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Trip To Charleston, SC”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Romantic Trip To Charleston, SC”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Pros : within walking distance to many of the best restaurants and shops in downtown, quiet, contemporary, clean, excellent staff, valet parking, daily afternoon wine/cheese and evening milk/cookies.
Cons : expensive, difficult to locate if not familiar with the area.
Summary : if you are willing to spend around $450 per day then definitely stay at The Restoration on King.
My wife and I wanted to get away for a few romantic days, no special occasion. We made our reservations online the day before we left. We reserved the romantic package which included red roses, sparkling wine and Godiva truffles in the room on arrival, a one hour private carriage tour through downtown Charleston, dinner for two at Fulton 5 ($125 voucher - see my review of this restaurant) and gourmet continental breakfast. This was our first trip to Charleston and we had a great time. This hotel is difficult to locate as there is not a big sign. Our GPS took us very close but we still drove around the block a couple of times before we located the entrance. Just park on the street right at the front door and the valet ($18 a day) will take care of the rest. Do not be fooled by the modest street view of this hotel (see my photos). We were concerned when we first saw the front of the building…but wait….The rooms are fantastic - contemporary and very comfortable. We had a suite room (#209). It has a very nice, fully furnished kitchen but we only used it for breakfast. Our condo was a one bedroom with a large bedroom, kitchen and den. There were flat-screen TVs in the den and bedroom, each with an attachment for iPod/iPhones. The rooms have exposed piping and original brick walls surrounded by high ceilings and modern décor. The bed was delightful with plenty of pillows. The shower was of moderate size with an amazing shower head. I am replacing mine with one of these! The continental breakfast was great. You check off the items you want and hang the order sheet outside your door. You can have breakfast delivered at several different times or just have a basket placed outside your door for private dining at your leisure. Items for selection included several juices, various cereals, scones, bagels, muffins, and a fruit tray. All of the items we chose were fresh and tasty. The staff were very nice and helpful. The lobby area is small but cozy. They have a great photo album of local restaurants. It has pictures of entrees and menus. We felt completely pampered during our stay. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    85
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
531
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Nicole, Cole, and the rest of the staff at Restoration on King went above and beyond in making our honeymoon stay wonderful! The room was clean and enjoyable with an "at home feel" due to the apartment style living. We had a private chef from the Oak Steakhouse cook one evening in our room's kitchen and it was a phenomenal evening. This hotel is highly recommended by us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Possibly one of the nicest (and certainly one of the most friendly and helpful) hotels I have stayed in - and I travel a lot.

Lots of extras and the staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Very nicely decorated and furnished and with all mod cons. Location is perfect - rightin the heart of the historic district and right on the doorstep of Charleton shopping.

If I ever find myself in Charleston again I would definitely stay here - and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone whether with kids or not.

Room Tip: We booked the 2 bed suite which was enormous and very well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonihardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

From the fresh, clean scent that greets you when you walk in the lobby, the modern decor, and the courteous and prompt service from the staff, The Restoration on King does not fail to impress in any way. Our room was beautifully decorated with a very modern, homey feel, and the view of King Street was the perfect accessory. The bedroom area was small, but with a bed that awesome, who cares? I was even impressed by the toiletries they provide in the bathroom - they smell so good! I'm looking forward to our next visit to Charleston & Restoration on King.

Room Tip: The view to King Street was great but it could be pretty noisy with the college students heading hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great hotel, great service. Room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Location made a car free four day weekend perfect, lots to do! Cole made sure every request was answered and SO quickly! You rock man!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I went to college in Charleston and return frequently for school events, weddings, and to visit friends. I've stayed at various downtown hotels, and have always been impressed with the high-quality accommodations in this fine southern city. But Restoration on King easily rises above its competition.

Management advised us that this hotel was constructed to be permanent residences. Due to the economic downturn, the owners decided to convert the condo-like properties into a boutique hotel. So your rooms are more like apartments than hotel rooms. You get a full kitchen, fully stocked with a toaster, blender, microwave, dishes, etc. The fridge is even stocked with complimentary waters and sodas! We stayed in the standard loft suite. This is set up like a split level. A long hallway leads you from the door into the kitchen and living room area, with a wonderful view of the King Street shopping district. If you turn right before walking down the long hallway towards the living room and kitchen, you go up a small flight of stairs to the bathroom and bedroom. The bed and linens are supremely comfortable and the bathroom is top-notch. There is also a rooftop terrace, complimentary happy hour with wine and cheese available to guests. I didn't get a chance to enjoy these amenities, but will definitely make it a point to check them out on my next visit.

Service was always prompt, friendly, and professional. You get a complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room every day. This breakfast includes your choice of coffee, juices, teas, milk, muffins, pastries, bagels, jams, fruits, and cereals. The valet service is $18/day... pricey, but pretty much a standard for Charleston hotels as far as my experience goes. And given the paucity of free parking available downtown, I recommend taking advantage of the valet service despite its cost.

The only downside to the hotel is the noise of King Street. On Saturday night (Sunday morning really), yelling outside was clearly audible in our room for many hours. If you're a light sleeper, do not like noise and need a hotel in Charleston, you may want to look for a place more removed from the busy nightlife of this area, or ask the Restoration on King personnel for their quieter rooms.

Otherwise, this hotel experience was perfect; definitely the best hotel I've booked in Charleston. I highly recommend it to locals looking for a downtown getaway and tourists alike. I am confident you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if this hotel has any rooms off King Street, but if you're sensitive to noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coachella Valley, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel is very low-key from the outside. However, the rooms are incredible. A split level hotel room? You've got to be kidding me. Totally amazing. The staff was very helpful. If you like shopping, the location can't be beat. All in all, a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is accessible for wheelchairs, but the bathroom and bedroom is up some stairs in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banned_in_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing