We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special girls getaway celebration”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, California
1 review
“special girls getaway celebration”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed at The Restoration on King with 4 college sorority sisters and we had an amazing experience. The place is impeccable. Eric, a true gem, could not have been more helpful with dinner reservations. Howard, the General Manager, also provided his personal hospitality touch. The place is centrally located and provides a welcoming atmosphere with wine and cheese in the afternoons and fresh cookies in the evenings. The complimentary continental breakfast is served to the room in picnic baskets. The Restoration provides true southern hospitality with lots of charm.

Room Tip: Just talk to Eric and he will do an amazing job taking care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    85
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
531
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Charleston is a lovely city and we only stopped for a few days but got to see plenty of the sites and tried some great cuisine.

We checked into this hotel, and were greeted by staff who were very eager to help with our bags and swiftly showed us to our room. We were impressed with the hotel's location as well as the room we were allocated, it had a terrace and two double bedrooms as well as an enormous living area kitchenette, so we started to unpack. Unfortunately.... it turned out we wouldn't be staying in the room. A mix-up at reception had meant that we'd been shown to the wrong room. The bellboy made various apologies and said it was a mix up due to a new trainee.

Anyway, after being shown to our actual room, we were still impressed with the facilities, a spacious living area and fully equipped kitchen. The hotel is well decorated and as stylish as you'd expect from the website.

There was another problem with the service at the hotel. After returning from a day out, we came back to our room to find the door was left ajar (presumably after housecleaning had been and left), we were not happy about this so spoke to reception. They were apologetic and although nothing was taken, it was disappointing that the staff at the hotel didn't think this was much of an issue.

They offer a breakfast "basket" delivery, with basics such as cereal, pastries, coffee. The hotel is located in a main shopping street and is well located for which is useful for getting around.

Even though we were happy with our room, the overall service experience wasn't what we've come to expect from hotels in the US. The staff weren't as friendly or personable as others we met on this trip or on trips to the US in the past and staff made too many mistakes in a very short trip to rate the service highly.

In summary, great location, great decor and facilities but staff need to improve their service to customers and focus on increasing satisfaction.

The rating of 4 stars is based on the comfort, quality of finish and location of hotel, not the customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I laugh as I type this b/c my husband always says i'm "hotel bourgeoisie." What he means by this is i like nice hotels. They don't always have to be expensive, but they have to be nice (extraordinarily clean, updated, great location, friendly). This hotel fits the bill. We stayed here on our mini-moon (pre-honeymoon) and it was lovely. It's super clean. I felt at ease laying in the nice, plush bed. Everything is new in the rooms - which are huge! Stainless steel, dark hardwood floors, exposed brick. And you can't beat the location. This was our first visit to Charleston and we were so please that everything was near the hotel. We had to drive a little bit (15 mins) to the beach but besides that we walked everywhere. The management is very friendly and accommodating. The owner knew us by name the 2nd day. We love it here and will definitely stay on future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I just returned from a trip to the south with my mother and daughter. One of the spots was Charleston and a stay at the Restoration on King. It was amazing. The service was impeccable. Howard the General Manager was so accommodating and the staff that surrounds him couldn't be more efficient. The breakfast basket every morning was worth waking up for and the cookies at night were such a treat. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at the wine and cheese party every night at 5p.m. The room was a palace for three women. The linens were stellar and the beds comfortable. Three generations of women can get on each others nerves at times, but it was nice to have so much space to find a place of your own. The rooftop was perfect for ordering a pizza or drinking a bottle of wine and not going anywhere for dinner. Our favorites spots were Husk and Muse with the best bartender in town. Eat at the bar, it is so much fun. We enjoyed the carriage ride. It was worth the ride to get a piece of all the history of Charleston. We did not enjoy the Calhoun mansion. Beautiful on the outside but filled with so many antiques on the inside, you really can't see the architecture. Not my favorite, but if you are into that sort of thing, go for it. For shopping, check out Lily, the couple who owns and runs the store are charming. The staff at Nice Ice was not my favorite. Grabbed the jewels off the counter when I walked in like I was going to steal something. Not a warm and friendly feeling, and no how can I help you?
I would definitely return to The Restoration on King. The three of us all commented when our plane landed across the country how much we missed Howard, Cole, Eric and "wine and cheese" in the lobby.

Room Tip: Just go, every room is a palace. Bring earplugs, if you aren't used to staying in a downtown en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stylinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Perfect! We live locally and took a "staycation" to celebrate a 40th birthday. We travel extensively but just didn't feel like traveling for the birthday celebration so we chose to spend a night at Restoration on King. Awesome loft! Perfectly furnished, high-end well-equipped kitchen, great shower, comfortable-beyond-belief bed, lively King St. view and great employees. We didn't want to leave. Wish we could buy the room and live there. Well done, ROK! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlerNotATourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My father wanted to visit Charleston for his 80th birthday and I booked The Restoration on King in large part due to the great Trip Advisor reviews. Knowing that my parents would have a full kitchen and a free breakfast delivered to the room was important -- paying for an expensive breakfast in a luxury hotel does not sit well with seniors! Nor does wandering around a strange city, looking for a Starbucks and then waiting in line...

The hotel's design is fabulous -- we got a wonderful tour from Howard, the general manager, when we arrived. Even though we arrived three hours before check-in time, the staff jumped through hoops to get both our rooms available. They delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne to my parents room in honor of my dad's birthday -- so nice and so unexpected.
My parents were in Room 209 -- a fabulous suite with a large living room and a bathroom with two sinks. I would definitely recommend asking for a room like this if you are traveling as a couple -- while our room (305) was also terrific, the bathroom was a trifle small for two people to share...well, at least for two people who have a lot of toiletries like I do!

We wound up having a medical emergency the first day and Howard and his staff could not have been any more helpful or caring -- it made a very frightening situation in an unfamiliar city a lot easier.

We did learn from this experience that Charleston is not a great city for taxicabs -- so if you aren't up for walking to all the amazing restaurants, make sure to call for a pedicab -- a two seat "rickshaw." And be sure to leave enough time for them to get to you -- they're in high demand!

I'm sure the other reviews will cover the great wine and cheese happy hours, the 8 p.m. cookies and milk and the great continental breakfast (amazing scones, muffins, cereals, yogurt parfaits) that you order the night before and then get delivered in a luxury picnic basket the next morning at the time you specify. There's a gorgeous roof top deck that we didn't get a chance to enjoy -- but I can promise you my husband and I will be making another trip to Charleston and the Restoration on King in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdtravelbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place was perfect for three friends traveling to charleston. Lots of space, two bathrooms, and lots of character with the latest technology (room 205). We loved the delivered breakfast and the location can't be beat. The only negative was the sound from king street. If you need silence to sleep and want to sleep before 2:30 am this may not be the place for you. We loved it and plan on staying here when we return to charleston. My friend said it best, "this place is nicer than my house. I think I will just stay!!"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docpaulad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing