We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Taco Joint”
Review of Taco Boy

Taco Boy
Ranked #149 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Funky Taco Joint”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A couple locals recommended Taco Boy, so we decided to check it out. During our short stay in Charleston we visited this place twice.

The first experience was great. It worked to our advantage that we went during a slower week night, so there was no wait to be seated. Our waitress was nice and efficient. I ordered the carne asada and carnitas tacos which were both delicious, however the carne asada taco was the stand out . On a positive note, you can customize your taco by choosing a type of taco shell (e.g., flour, corn or lettuce wrap). The corn tortillas were pretty good.

The second experience wasn't as wonderful as our first, but we visited on a weekend night for dinner, so we expected it to be much busier. We waited approximately 45 minutes for a table. It took another 45 minutes for us to receive our appetizer. Our waitress apologized for the wait, however it would have been nice gesture to give us some chips (something else) to provide a bit of service recovery. The taquitos were delicious as well as the tacos. The food was consistently delicious for both visits. It was incredibly busy this night and the noise was deafening. My ears were ringing when we left.

Despite the name of the place, the overall ambiance of Taco Boy is uniquely elegant yet funky when compared to the typical Mexican restaurants I've been to. The stained glass and iron clad chandeliers are beautiful. The food was delectable and the interior of the restaurant is stunning. The noise during our second visit was almost unbearable and the long wait for our meals was a point of dissatisfaction. I recommend you visit on a weekday to save both time and your hearing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ast66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
HOLA! Thank you for your review! We are pumped to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to having you back soon! Lets FIesta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    135
    44
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love the Fish Tacos”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Asian taco is yummy and also the frozen screwdrivers.
THe atmosphere is fun and cute. I wish I had one next door!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
HOLA! Thank you for your review! We are amped to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Taco Boy! LEts Fiesta again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is my "have to" when I'm in Charleston! They have an amazing variety of tacos-my fav is Kimchi Beef. The outdoor is awesome - you can bring your dog! The interior decor is fun!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dlmartin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
HOLA! Thank you for your review! We are amped to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Taco Boy! LEts Fiesta again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“YUM and adequate parking!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

There's so many great places to eat in Charleston, but honestly parking to eat at those places can be a headache. I was thrilled to see a full parking lot at Taco Boy. The atmosphere is so fun - I've never been to Mexico, but it seemed like a good imitation. There's no free chips and salsa, which is a drag, but the chili con queso dip is awesome. Our waitress was super helpful and attentive. They have an extensive menu of taco options. The tacos were a little pricey ($3.95 a piece) especially since you will likely need two to fill you up - unless you get chips and dip before hand, in which case you might be good with just one :). You also will probably want to try more than one because the offerings are so interesting and varied. I had the plain Americano taco (or something like that), which was basic and tasty - just how I like it! I had been to the Taco Boy in Folly Beach, and this one is much more spacious inside, and the outside dining area is nicer. I definitely recommend going there to others, and it was a place that I would not mind returning to each time I visit Charleston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southerngirl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
HOLA! Thank you for your review! We are amped to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Taco Boy! Yay for parking!! :) LEts Fiesta again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and perfect outdoor area”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I love you can bring your dogs here :) But amazing tacos (my husband loved the grilled fish) - we also had the skinny pineapple marg's YUM! Highly recommend this place for lunch or a Sunday Funday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Public Relations Manager at Taco Boy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
HOLA! Thank you for your review! We are amped to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Taco Boy! LEts Fiesta again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Boy also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Taco Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing