We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, service bad”
Review of Tasty Thai & Sushi

Tasty Thai & Sushi
Ranked #244 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Charleston's Finest Thai restaurant offers the many of the best dishes from Thailand as well as award winning sushi. Tasty Thai and Sushi located in the heart of Downtown Charleston is a full service restaurant and bar. Our restaurant is available for special events or parties and is very family friendly. We offer delivery as well through our website at Tasty Thai and Sushi or through QuickFoxes
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food good, service bad”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went to this restaurant because I was really craving Thai food and was shopping on King street so I stopped in. The food was good but the service was awful. The waitresses told some tables the specials but not others. We also had to ask our waitress several times for drinks, soy sauce, and napkins. I would not recommend this place because food is only part of the experience when going out to eat. I would recommend Basil if you are looking for a good Thai place in downtown Charleston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gabiharvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    53
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Thai food and service (too)”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped buy here and got great take out. The guy who works the bar (think he might be a manager) is very nice and cares. Food was indeed tasty! BTW - service is good too and I find that service in charleston (in general) is sub- par - so way to go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MattDFW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai & Sushi is Tasty, Thai and Sushi”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent food and service. We had great Pad Thai and an excellent curry at this establishment. Our sushi appetizer was also top notch. If you enjoy Thai food you simply cannot do any better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LJinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice Change of Pace”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Charleston has many fine restaurants but most of them tend toward what I'd call "new Southern." If you want a change of pace or are just hankering for some Asian food in the historic area, Tasty Thai is a good choice. The menu is extensive, the portions ample, and the food tasty. You can specify you desired degree of heat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi/sashimi complimented by wonderful Thai appetizers.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A must if you visit Charleston and love sushi and sashimi. They taste so fresh for added enjoyment. The Thai appetizers and wonton soup (large for one person) complimented our excellent meal. Our server, Alexis was pleasant , attentive and very responsive. The only negative was the presence of a large group of loud, immature and inconsiderate young people sitting near us and it would have been better to have sat them by themselves in the adjacent room that was empty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stucolco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Thai & Sushi also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tasty Thai & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing