We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is Very good, Service is ehh”

Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumblerland
Transit: Public Transit (bus) stop is located directly in front of the restaurant.
Description: Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar opened in 2009, reviving the former Amen name of Cumberland Street and restoring this historic corner. The new renovation stays true to the beauty of the original 1800's architecture while creating a comfortable atmosphere for contemporary life. Located at 205 East Bay Street in the heart of the historic district this Charleston seafood restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor dining all within walking distance of the local Market and the Charleston Harbor. The menu includes a variety of seafood dishes such as oysters, clams and shrimp in addition to an ever growing raw bar menu. Amen Street supports Charleston's local fishing industry with market fresh fish. We are open for lunch and dinner. Walk-ins are welcome and reservations are accepted as well.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food is Very good, Service is ehh”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been to Amen street before and have noticed the service at the bar is less than average, or let me say this to be fair in all aspects, we have always sat at the end of the J bar and not many people sit in this area so, I am sure if we were seated at a table the service would have been much better, but what I do not understand is that there are two bartenders behind the bar and the service is still lacking, it was busy and they were working, butit seems they are not paying very much attention to the end of the bar. If a manager at the restaurant reads this please accept mt constructive critique that maybe this area of the bar go away provide more tables for seating and service, because your bartenders treat it like no mans land. I will say this for Amen street, the employees are very nice and the food is wonderful, seared scallops were probably the best I ever had, however my wife had the shrimp and grits and while they were good, they were not hot because we waited for so long to get our meals served. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for good seafood in Charleston, just don't sit at the end of the bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bullet113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Bullet113, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our bar last week. I will address them accordingly and we look forward to seeing you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    641
    211
    50
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Apps”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went to enjoy some appetizers and were not disappointed. Chef's choice oysters were all very fresh and tasty, same with gulf oysters. The calamari was phenomenal! Corn and bacon?! So different from the traditional. And finally the mussels...I didn't want to share :)

If you're looking for fresh seafood Amen won't disappoint

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super Place to Eat”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

In a city with an abundance of good restaurants, this one stands out. The dishes are very well prepared, the portions are generous and the prices are very reasonable. Our waitress was excellent and we enjoyed the meal. This was a particularly pleasant experience in light of our terrible adventure at the Social Restaurant across the street. Perhaps the only caveat I could think of is that this wouldn't be great for a young couple looking for romantic ambience. It is too airy and cheerful for that. For those looking to first eat a great meal and enjoy an early drink, it is perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hbs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We are very proud of what we do and look forward to serving you in the future. Have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for raw oysters and lunch. We dined outside. Oysters were ok. Seared fresh fish preparation rather bland. Fried shrimp good. Bloody Mary very good. The service was very slow...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Agdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for joining us at Amen Street. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will address the issues you pointed out. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best calamari Ever!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Recommended by our tour guide and surpassed my hopes. Calamari were large, tender and first time I've seen the breading stick. The dipping sauce was also delicious. Split the appetizer and Caesar salad for a perfect meal. Tasted the she crab soup that was also delicious. Wish it was near our home! Cost was about 20$/person but included beverages.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed the Crispy Jumbo Calamari (the lemon aioli on top is my favorite part too). Have a safe trip home and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing