We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheesy, locals heckle, but still fun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cat Tours

Black Cat Tours
Ranked #103 of 219 Tours in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Charleston's haunted, dark and odd history with a company who has a strong commitment to quality over quantity. Owned and operated by authors/historians/investigators Mark R. Jones and Rebel Sinclair, Black Cat offers tours aimed for the travelers who want to step slightly out-of-the-mainstream and do not want to walk with a herd. Mark is the author of five books about Charleston history, and Rebel is the author of two historical novels about Charleston's romance, tragedy and spirits. Call for reservations.
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheesy, locals heckle, but still fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We took the ghost tour, but didn't think about the "locals" that frequently heckled the tour - made it slightly difficult to really get into the full scary haunted mind set, but it was still fun. The tour guide did an overall good job, but did come across as very theater/actor-ish at times, but still was a fun time. One local (a lovely young woman clearly on her way to a night spot dressed in a short skirt and high heels pranced in front of us in a sing songy voice "Ghost tour - ghost tour"... still sticks in our heads - really really funny moment - probably had to be there, but really, expect heckling).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmyil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    11
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Great, Not Horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We took the ghost tour. This was less of a ghost tour and more of a conspiracy theory tour. Rebel was a nice person, but her stories sounded over rehearsed and she took herself a bit too seriously. I felt her logic was off on several things. She seemed to lose interest near the end of the tour. A sardonic exchange with a heckler left us unimpressed. I think the tour is priced right. We had a fine time, but it's not something we would recommend or do again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and Very Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I took this tour on Oct. 13, 2012 with Mark on the Wicked Tour. He is an excellent tour guide and a local man. He has lived in Charleston his whole life and it shows in his storytelling. We have taken tours in the past and this one has been the best. Its not ghost stories, but it is very interesting with information that we would have never known. It wasn't cheesy like some tours can be. He seemed to love his job and was very nice and interesting. To make things even better, on Sunday mornings, he offers a FREE tour of the battery area and Rainbow Row and its full of neat historical stories. I would highly recommend these tours for couples and groups of friends....NOT for anyone with children. Excellent all the way around!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I took the Haunted tour with Rebel and we are so glad we did! We take a ghost tour every time we come to Charleston and this was by far the best yet! The perfect combination of history and spooky - this is a Charleston must!

Helpful?
Thank Denali5540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Met Mark while he was the guide on our carriage tour, he told us about his night walking tours of "Wicked Charleston"- loved the tour!! Also loved his books! Great insight to the "real" history of Charleston!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Cat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing