We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooftop deck for a drink but service was very slow”

Henry's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #127 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice rooftop deck for a drink but service was very slow”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

6 of us stopped here for a drink on the rooftop deck before dinner. It was a beautiful night and a little chilly but the rooftop atmosphere was great. That is where the greatness ended. They were not very busy as it was only 730pm and this seems to be more of a late night spot. We waited 15 minutes for drinks only and the waitress came back and ask us what alternate gin we wanted since they were out of what we ordered. It was another 10 minutes until we got our drinks. I am not sure if this is typical but the bar needs to know that customer service needs to be number 1. We will not return here. There are plenty of other places in Charleston that will provide great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    256
    104
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great night place”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We always stop by Henry's after a nice dinner for a night cap. Staff is always friendly and accommodating if you want to watch something on the TV. They also have a roof top area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank debeizbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We lucked out...”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

...and picked this place first.

We were on our way South and arrived in town late and hungry. So we didn't take a lot of time walking around to find food.

We chose Henry's and liked the burgers so much we returned for lunch the next day.

On our return drive North 10 days later we ate there again.

Hostess and table staff were great - friendly and helpful. One young lady in particular was super nice. I told her we were thinking of Charleston as a winter home and she wrote out a list of areas we might like to check out. I wish I could remember her name. She deserves a raise for great customer service.


The only sour note I have for this place is we sat at the bar for a drink on our last night and were totally ignored by both male bartenders...so we left. This was later on at night on 10/5.

We won't let that stop us from eating there again, though. We'll just make sure to get a table.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abiextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fried Green Tomato BLT”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food was great it took awhile but was worth the wait. Atmosphere is very nice, especially the rooftop patio. Had comfortable seating areas with wicker furniture and another level set up for dining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneLeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise near the market”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

While Henry's may not be an eye-catching chain restaurant, we found it to be a quiet island of good food, rapid and enthusiastic service (Leah is a gem!), good beer and drink selections, all very reasonably priced for Charleston. The main dining area needs a bit of post-70's decor refit; the upstairs lounge a very nice option as well. If you're near the market to shop, or even if you're not, it may not offer sophisticated dining, but is well worth stopping in!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Henry's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing