We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay and hospitality, not you average Comfort Suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic stay and hospitality, not you average Comfort Suites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Unbelievable rooms and suites for the money. A great value...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    252
    58
    17
    11
See reviews for
316
319
32
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

we stayed here for our honeymoon 1/1/11-1/4/11 and it was our first trip together and to Charleston Sc. We plan on returning more than once, and we will always stay at this hotel! The location is great also! The staff are super friendly and helpful! They helped us in so many ways, especially Linsey!! She was a great help!! I highly recommend staying at this particular hotel if you are staying in Charleston!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed here for a night in December 2010 and it is a great Hotel! My children especially liked the indoor pool. There a nice work out room with aerobic machines and dumb bells which is unusual with Comfort Suites. The Hotel is new and very clean which made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfast was good and the attendant very helpful. I would highly recommend this Hotel if staying in Charleston SC!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mission01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

we stayed here for a romatic weekend getaway and loved it.we would stay here again in a second.the room was great and the jacuzzi was wonderful.its just a few miles outside the historic side of town but is great location to avoid the downtown cluster.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladys Island, Sc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed while visiting our daughter and grands. The location is ideal and within walking distance of a large mall. There is a major highway to cross so be careful.

The property is weell-kept, as are the public areas, and rooms. There was a freshness in the hallways as well as the room. The regular suites are large and could easily sleep 4. The bed was comfortable and comforting. The bathroom was spotless. The staff was very polite and efficient during check-in and check-out. We were made to feel welcomed and appreciated.

The downside were: The heating systen was extremely loud for about 10 minutes during startup, the steam iron stopped working in mid press, and the breakfast bar could use a serious remake as it pretains to the quality of one of the items offered. I had better eggs in bootcamp.

Still, I'm looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amurray751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, has a decent cold breakfest and that's where it ends. We arrived to find the sheets had not been changed and had pubic hair on the bed and the sheet had black stains!!! Come on! The pool is a safety hazzard. The bar that leads you into the pool was loose and is about to fall off. I notified the girl at the front and got just a nod of the head, they may want to get ready for a lawsuit the first time someone gets really hurt there. You can do better in the area, there is a Holiday Inn and Springhill Suites that look much nicer down the street. Management needs to tighten it up at the Comfort Suites, try not to get 304 they neglect it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojsimpson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
First I would like to thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites West of the Ashley during your trip to Charleston. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our HOT breakfast buffet. As the General Manager of the hotel, I take issues of this nature very seriously. I wished I would have had the opportunity to speak with you during your stay here. We have addressed your housekeeping issues providing additional training to the attendant who was assigned to clean your room. Your experience was clearly not the norm and it is inexcusable.
The hand rail installed in our pool did in fact come loose during the time you visited and it has been repaired. I thank you for bringing this to the attention of our staff.
There are alternate lodging properties in the area, but as you will see on Trip Advisor, we are the TOP RATED hotel in West Ashley and have been since our opening one year ago. This is thanks to the great customer service, excellent value, and clean accommodations we provide. I apologize that your accommodations were not up to our normal standards, and hope you give the Comfort Suites West of the Ashley another chance. You may contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Best Regards
Steven Spear, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Check in was easy; stayed in rm. 227. Clean room, comfortable bed. Everything was as promised. Area felt safe. Breakfast looked good, but we were short on time so skipped it. Friends said it was good. Only negative was that our friends room wasn't ready at check-in. Notified front desk, and it was taken care of while we went to dinner. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#35 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing