We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Rooms. Quiet and no smoke.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Rooms. Quiet and no smoke.”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Our first stop on our Spring Break Road Trip we were not disappointed! The room was very comfortable, beds and pillows and no smoke smells as the hotel is smoke free. The breakfast was good but the space was crowded. Only negatives were on check in and check out the single person at the desk was on the phone while working with me and could really not interact with me at all just go through the motions of check in or out. When we got to our given room at about 4:30pm well after check in time it was still being cleaned. The rooms are very well laid out with a divider between the beds and seating and very quiet. I did not hear anything outside of our room and there were people in the room next door. We did not use the pool but it was very small.
Location was convenient. A short drive into Charleston where there are several parking options (a little pricey on parking,). This hotel and Charleston were the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    255
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
322
327
33
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This place needs some good night management. I am sure comfort suites is going to attempt to negate my claims,but hear me out please! This hotel has been open just long enough for management to become laxed in the day to day operation. we had to go downstairs to get our towels and washcloths for two nights. One day the beds were not made even after I was told housekeeping was going to take care of it. I understand people get behind when an establishment is booked, but if one cannot do a task then do not tell someone you are going to do it!!! Lying to guests is not a good practice at all. The breakfast staff is one person who is so overworked she cannot do the job effectively. I feel bad for her! As far as the claim that this hotel is close to everything, it is not. If someone can drive to patriots point in 10-12 minutes then they must be in a ferrarri! Dont let others beef this place up too high. It is a clean, quiet place to lay your head. It is safe. The pool is small 15 feet x15 feet. My advice is to get a room with a hot tub. That was really nice! Once the new wears off this place it will be the same as any other hotel. Next time in charleston I will pay the extra money to stay in the historic district. It is much easier, closer to finer restaurants, and less stressful to stay in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turfgrassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
As the General Manager of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, I was disheartened to read the comments of a recent guest from Virginia.
As you can see from 90% of our reviews, we pride ourselves on providing superior customer service, with clean and relaxing accommodations. Judy, who is mentioned numerous times on Trip Advisor is a hard worker and makes everyone feel as if they were at home. If at any time she feels that she is too busy, we are all here to help her. So OVERWORKED would be a false statement. Our breakfast is a Hot Deluxe breakfast unlike most limited service properties, so the quantity of food that has to be maintained is far more than the typical Comfort Suites.
As for needing additional washcloths, we apologize for their inconvenience and would have liked to have had the opportunity to speak with them after the first occurrence.
We are very close to the Historic District, but are not in the Historic District itself, and at no time do we state that. As for the number of miles to Patriots Point, we will look into this and make proper adjustments to our listing.

We are very happy that they enjoyed our suite with the Hot Tub, and hope that they return to experience what all other Trip Advisor guests have enjoyed.

Again our apologies go out to our guests from Virginia and we hope to see them again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We booked two nights here on our way further south. The entrance was tricky to get into, but once you discovered the routing, it was fine after that. When we went into the room, my wife thought that the cleanliness of the bathroom floor was questionable. Having shrugged that off, we went on our merry way to enjoy the city the following day. Upon our return in the evening, it was very obvious that the bathroom had not been touched at all. The bed had been made and the garbage emptied. That was it. We examined the room more carefully and saw that there was lots of dust from extended neglect. We realized that it was too late in the day to get things rectified so we complained at checkout. The girl behind the desk was most apologetic and immediately entered the comments in her book and computer. We stay at the Choice Hotels chain most of the time and this was the first complaint we've ever made. Our friends down the hall had no problems with their housekeeping so ours was likely a different housekeeper.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
II first would like to thank our guests from Toronto for their recent post regarding their visit to our Brand New Comfort Suites.

As the General Manager I would like to assure our Toronto guests and all Trip Advisor visitors that we take all comments very seriously and make any necessary changes to ensure complete satisfaction for future guests.

Unfortunately, due to city ordinances, the entrance to our property cannot be changed. Future guests may contact the property directly and a guest service associate can forward you detailed instructions for getting to the property.

The room condition issue, is a rare occurrence, and was taken very seriously. The issues our guests mentioned have been addressed and corrected with our staff.

As you can see from previous Trip Advisor posts, we pride ourselves on providing superior customer service, with clean and relaxing accommodations.

We apologize for the experience and service these guests received and hope that on their next trip to Charleston they will again choose the new Comfort Suites West of the Ashley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We booked this hotel because of Trip Advisor - THANK YOU! We stayed for 5 days in a clean, spacious suite with wonderful pillowtop beds and 4 pillows each! The only thing missing from our accommodation was that the mini-fridge did not have a freezer section for our ice gel pacs (needed for bad knees) but the staff willingly placed them in the staff freezer for us each morning and the night staff retrieved them on our return to the hotel after a full day of walking around Charleston. Although surrounded by highways, the rooms are very very quiet. We liked it so much that our on return trip through Charleston, we booked in again for another 4 nights. The staff is friendly, helpful. This hotel is becoming very well known to travellers and it is a good idea to check in early or reserve ahead. If you do go out in the evening, be aware that the parking lot can be full upon your return. It went from 40% occupancy to 100% occupancy in the space of 3 hours one night.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiningBrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Great for a large family. We had two adjoining suites, great rooms, clean & modern. Fitness center had good machines, plus free weights. Short drive to downtown Charleston. Friendly service, terrific value!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversprung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I read the reviews on this hotel so I had high expectations. The reviews were right on, this hotel was right off the interstate on Savannah Hwy. It was just a few minutes from downtown Charleston.

My wife and I traveled with our three young daughters. This hotel is totally kid friendly with a great free breakfeast. They had everything from cold cereal/yogurt to scrambled eggs and a waffle making station. The rooms are huge, we had a room with two queen beds and a fold out couch (standard). The room was spotless, just like the rest of the hotel. Pillowtop mattresses were great.

We got into town at 11 am, eventhough check in wasnt until 3pm, the staff gladly let us check in early. The pool is a little small, but it was very clean and well maintained.

Don't pay double the price to stay in downtown Charleston, this hotel is great, and its about 5 minutes from everything. Our longest drive was to Patriots Point, and that only took 10-12 minutes. The pictures on the hotel's website are exactly what you find when you get there. Great time had by all, highly reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryNorthernIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The hotel and town were full of bridge runners. It was, clean comfortable and had a very nice hotel lobby breakfast. We had a great time in Charleston and at night the hotel was a great place to rest up for more. I would stay there again. It was a good value with a great cup of dark coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmilo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing