We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Impromptu Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Impromptu Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My Husband and I decided to travel to Charleston on a whim. We never really know which hotel to choose. After looking through several, we decided on this hotel because of its rating and the fact that my husband had traveled recently for work and stayed at a Comfort. We called the night before our arrival to book and ask a few questions. We were told the room we booked had a whirpool tub. The room we get to, did not. My husband went to the desk and she gave us keys to the last suite with a whirpool tub, no questions asked. We later found out the staff member who misinformed us about the tub in the room, was new. We thought that was great customer service and will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    238
    53
    17
    10
See reviews for
302
308
28
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White House, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our five night stay here. The staff was very attentive and professional. The room was well appointed and clean. Breakfast bar was well stocked and tasty. We recommend this Comfort Suite.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RKHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I want to recommend this hotel for a few reasons. The room we had was beautiful and spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. Also, the breakfast provided was ample and a decent variety and I was always full(love the coffee). One especially special part though, was the desk clerk, Charlene. She was wonderful at greeting and helping people and just made us feel so at home. We never saw her without a smile and happy words for anyone-love her. Our long weekend was very nice there.

Room Tip: There is a video that shows the various rooms for you to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved our stay here. We came for a romantic getaway and it was perfect.The rooms were modern, the bathrooms spacious. We were 15 minutes or less away from everything. The breakfast was standard. But it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fun getaway with the kids, I would stay here again. The only complaint I had was that housekeeping knocked on the door as we were preparing to leave for a day out (11am). We asked her if she could come back in 15 mins, since we were dressing. When we came back that evening, the room had never been cleaned. Even though housekeeping was gone for the day, someone in management resolved it by cleaning the room and leaving clean towels. Also, the pool was closed for maintenance while we were there, but noticed it was open the morning we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r28eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
char)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is convenient to historic Charleston and the beaches. When leaving the hotel you must go south on Hwy 17 (Savannah Hwy) then turn around if you want to go north, so that is confusing until you figure it out. But the hotel is very clean and the beds are comfortable. The bed linens feel to be a very good quality. The service is professional and friendly. The lobby is attractive and has fresh baked cookies every afternoon. The pool is inside with some outside seating and the exercise room is well equipped. The only less than 5 rating are the walls are somewhat thin and there is some noise from the next room, also some highway noise and our pillows were small and not very comfortable. But overall, I highly recommend, my husband and I stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the location, the quality, the service and the rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this hotel because they had suites that would accomodate our family (2 adults + 4 kids) in one room. The lobby was nice and the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. We had to call down for bedding for the sofa bed and extra towels and they were brought up right away. Beds were comfortable (even the sofa bed). Breakfast was nice and the lady running it was very friendly and hardworking.

I was pleased that this was not as far from the historic district as I'd assumed. It took us maybe 10 minutes to get into downtown and there were plenty of restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirpeternincompoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing