We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My Husband and I decided to travel to Charleston on a whim. We never really know which hotel to choose. After looking through several, we decided on this hotel because of its rating and the fact that my husband had traveled recently for work and stayed at a Comfort. We called the night before our arrival to book and ask a few questions. We were told the room we booked had a whirpool tub. The room we get to, did not. My husband went to the desk and she gave us keys to the last suite with a whirpool tub, no questions asked. We later found out the staff member who misinformed us about the tub in the room, was new. We thought that was great customer service and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 909 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our five night stay here. The staff was very attentive and professional. The room was well appointed and clean. Breakfast bar was well stocked and tasty. We recommend this Comfort Suite.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RKHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for the great review. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I want to recommend this hotel for a few reasons. The room we had was beautiful and spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. Also, the breakfast provided was ample and a decent variety and I was always full(love the coffee). One especially special part though, was the desk clerk, Charlene. She was wonderful at greeting and helping people and just made us feel so at home. We never saw her without a smile and happy words for anyone-love her. Our long weekend was very nice there.

Room Tip: There is a video that shows the various rooms for you to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank omadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved our stay here. We came for a romantic getaway and it was perfect.The rooms were modern, the bathrooms spacious. We were 15 minutes or less away from everything. The breakfast was standard. But it did the job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fun getaway with the kids, I would stay here again. The only complaint I had was that housekeeping knocked on the door as we were preparing to leave for a day out (11am). We asked her if she could come back in 15 mins, since we were dressing. When we came back that evening, the room had never been cleaned. Even though housekeeping was gone for the day, someone in management resolved it by cleaning the room and leaving clean towels. Also, the pool was closed for maintenance while we were there, but noticed it was open the morning we checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r28eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is convenient to historic Charleston and the beaches. When leaving the hotel you must go south on Hwy 17 (Savannah Hwy) then turn around if you want to go north, so that is confusing until you figure it out. But the hotel is very clean and the beds are comfortable. The bed linens feel to be a very good quality. The service is professional and friendly. The lobby is attractive and has fresh baked cookies every afternoon. The pool is inside with some outside seating and the exercise room is well equipped. The only less than 5 rating are the walls are somewhat thin and there is some noise from the next room, also some highway noise and our pillows were small and not very comfortable. But overall, I highly recommend, my husband and I stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the location, the quality, the service and the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this hotel because they had suites that would accomodate our family (2 adults + 4 kids) in one room. The lobby was nice and the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. We had to call down for bedding for the sofa bed and extra towels and they were brought up right away. Beds were comfortable (even the sofa bed). Breakfast was nice and the lady running it was very friendly and hardworking.

I was pleased that this was not as far from the historic district as I'd assumed. It took us maybe 10 minutes to get into downtown and there were plenty of restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sirpeternincompoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 62 in Charleston
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $95 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing