We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent three nights here on a long-weekend in Charleston. The hotel was exactly what we expected: clean, large rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast. The drive downtown and back was very easy and not too long. The hotel is at the end of I-526 and is easy to find, although a little tricky to get in and out of. If you've had an enjoyable stay at a Comfort Suites before, you will have a great time here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opi-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 913 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed one night and the hotel is close to town. Our room was very large, clen and comfortable. The bathroom very large and a nice seating area with a small kitchen. Breakfast was ok and included in the rate. I would highly reccomend this room for families that want some more room. We will come back.

Room Tip: Suites are really large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuciandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this Comfort Suites and were very pleased. Reasonable price for the location, about 10-15 minutes from Downtown. Breakfast was included and was pretty decent, eggs and sausage and miscellaneous pastry items; seating was very tight for breakfast though. Only complaint about the hotel would be the entrance, you can only enter/exit from the main road and traffic got pretty dicey at certain hours of the day (it was also inconvenient if you were coming from the South as you had to drive around the hotel to get back into it).

Charlene checked us in and out and was an absolute sweetheart.

Definitely worth checking this hotel out!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateykins812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just got back from spending four nights in Charleston. This hotel is wonderful, clean, comfortable, great staff. I would recommend to everyone. It is central, economical, close to downtown and in an area where it is easy to get to restaurants, movies, and shopping. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank witchywoman214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was an excellent hotel in Charleston. The room was very spacious. The staff was very friendly. A special thanx to Brenda and Christyan for creating such a wonderful staff!!! I would definitely recommend this spectacular hotel to anyone. Keep up the good work ladies. C u soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for making Comfort Suites your new home. You can rest assured that we will take good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Reserved the hotel on Choice Hotels website and probably would have gotten a better price by using a Expedia after reading that another TripAdvisor guest paid $89/night. We paid $108/night (King w/ AAA discount) before all the taxes. My biggest issue with this hotel is that I inadvertently left a pile of folded clothes on the bed on a Friday, contacted the hotel housekeeping staff on Monday am. No trace of my Lacoste sweatshirt, dress shirt and workout clothing. I am only writing this to bring it to the attention of Management. The articles of clothing are meaningful to me!
As for the hotel itself - the pool is a useless size for those of you hoping to actually swim. Breakfast is typical powdered eggs and chain hotel waffles. As always, no attention is paid to quality of coffee. But for travelers, on a budget, this is the best I could find near the Old town of Charleston.

Room Tip: We picked the top floor for quiet. The Hotel is wedged between highways, and most times we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tired_Legs_From_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My daughter and I visited College of Charleston this week and spent a night at Comfort Suites. The room was immaculate and fresh. The price, with a coupon, was only $89. I was not expecting such a great room at that price....near Charleston, especially. You do have to drive about 10 min outside of downtown, but you can't beat the great room and great price. Breakfast was included in the price and was good. Will choose to stay here on our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the building....away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatriceMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 62 in Charleston
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $86 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing