We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL VISIT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is one of the most pleasant properties that my wife and I have ever stayed at. The staff is wonderful, especially Ms. Charlene Williams, she made it feel more like coming home than visiting. This is our 4th or 5th visit there.

Room Tip: The 01 rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 909 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Comfort Suites and have no complaints. From the moment we checked in, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. There was a coffee pot with with coffee and tea, a microwave, and a fridge which always helps to make your stay nicer. Loved the separated room with a couch, chair, and coffee table. It made us feel more at hone and less like we were in a hotel. The continental breakfast was one of the best I've had. It had the typical pastries, waffles, fruit, dairy, cereal, etc but what really made it stand out was the hot items. Scrambled eggs everyday with a different side each day (sausage and biscuits and gravy). There was also 24 hour coffee and tea available which was nice when we returned from our adventures in the cold weather. We did not use them, but the fitness center and indoor pool looked clean and inviting. Overall a great stay! If we return to Charleston, we will definitely be retuning here!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KSMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Rented a double queen bed efficiency suite for 3 nights (1/18-1/20/14). I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel either relatively new or recently renovated. The efficiency suite we had was huge with 2 full rooms and a massive bathroom. Granted it was a handicap room, which may have enhanced the size a bit, but this room could easily have accommodated a family with 4-5 kids with the 2 queen beds, a sleeper sofa, and the ability to add a rollaway. The living room was separated from the bedroom by a floor to ceiling half wall. TVs in both rooms, for those who care. The kitchenette was tiny, but functional with a full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove, microwave, and coffee maker. The only appliance missing was a toaster. The kitchen was lacking some fundamentals. It only had a few plates, one pot and one frying pan. No dish towels were provided. The beds seemed newer - some kind of pillow top that made for a soft feel, but firm underneath. Very comfortable, in my opinion. The room was spotlessly clean when we checked in. The breakfast was the standard continental with a waffle maker, eggs, sausage, cereal, pastries, yogurt, and cereal. The location of this hotel is a little ways outside of downtown Charleston, but if you don't mind a 15 minute drive in and out, it's a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyStateCollegePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stay in hotels 50 or 60 nights a year, and this is one of the best we've encountered anywhere.

Charlene at the front desk welcomed us warmly, selected a great room for us, and always had a smile and a cheerful greeting whenever we passed through the lobby. She also had useful advice on where to eat, how to find the nearby Costco, etc. Thank you for Charlene.

The room was sparkling clean, spacious, well furnished, and quiet. We immediately felt comfortable, like we belonged here.

The hotel is on Highway 17 which takes you right into Charleston. Citadel Mall is close, and so is the only Costco in the region.

When next we are in Charleston, this is where we will stay. It will feel like coming home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 828TJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A couple of miles from downtown, but a great location. We had a lovely suite for a just a bit more than a standard room. It has a great hot tub and was spacious. Very clean. Everyone was very helpful. Breakfast was above average.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the comfort Suites. We appreciate your fine compliments. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is exceptionally clean, new, great breakfast, FRIENDLY staff, LARGE attractive rooms, comfortable beds and pillows. The reason I only gave it 4 out of 5 is because we had an issue with our room. On a windy night room 215 has a palm tree that scrapes against the window...so no sleep all night listening to what sounds like nails on a chalkboard. I called and informed the manager of this situation in this room. Housekeeping also did not leave enough towels and left no new glasses during our stay. Beyond that everything was outstanding...I feel bad leaving only 4/5, but I can't in my heart give a 5 when there were a few issues. But stay here, you will not regret - great value for the price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c3pon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Comfort Suites West of the Ashley is a fantastic hotel with great staff.

My wife and I were given a discount even though we don't have AAA or any other qualifying memberships that would grant us a discount. The front desk clerk, Ebony, was extremely helpful and had a great sense of humor. She made our first visit to Charleston memorable by recommending a great restaurant and even providing us with a discount coupon for the establishment.

Cynthia, who managed the breakfast bar, kept a very nice, clean, and generously stocked area, and was gracious towards us in that my wife and I were certainly skirting the cutoff time for when breakfast ended. She also helped check us out of the hotel with the other friendly member of the staff whose name we unfortunately did not learn. (Basically, I think the common theme here is the staff is awesome.)

In terms of the hotel itself, it has a decent-sized parking lot (with no additional fees for parking overnight). My only complaint, and this is an extremely minor one, is that if you want to head downtown from the hotel, the most expedient route requires a U-turn at the nearest intersection. Returning from the downtown area, though, is a breeze because the entrance is conveniently on the right-hand side.

Regarding the Internet service, our room had an excellent wireless connection, and for those of you who prefer to hook up your laptops via Cat-5, our room had a port available for that (but you will have to bring your own cable). I would imagine all rooms have the hookup as well.

The room itself was very tasteful in its design and coloring, and there was nothing off or unseemly or dated in the decor. The bathroom was clean and well-maintained, and everything we needed was available. The bed was comfortable and, even though the hotel is on a busy street (and our room directly faced it), we didn't hear the traffic much at all.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. Its staff are great, its rooms are very nice, and it's been one of our best hotel experiences to date.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We are so glad your stay was great and thank you for the fine review. We look forward to perhaps seeing you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 62 in Charleston
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $95 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing