We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decietful and Unethical Practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decietful and Unethical Practices”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I took a large group of active Seniors to tour Charleston and stayed at this hotel, only to experience a HELLISH NIGHTMARE, at check-out. The Sales Manager had agreed to match our room rate from another hotel for 28 rooms, but when we recieved the bill saw that she had added $10.80 for each room to the bill over the amount she agreed to. In the end she justified it as tax added. She offered to provide baggage service for 55 guests as a courtesy but charged us $2.00 per bag per guest. After registering a complaint, she refunded the baggge but refused to refund the extra money she charged us on the rooms. The agreement was verbal, so of course she retracted her statement when confronted. A TRUE BAIT AND SWITCH! A very expensive lesson in trusting what a SALES person says. Behind the smiles and gestures of kindness was a dishonest agenda. A very expensive lesson learned in trusting someone to honor their word. THE SALES OFFICE AT THIS LOCATION CANNOT BE TRUSTED. BEWARE. THEY FLEECE SENIOR CITIZENS. NICE HOTEL...SHIFTY SALES OFFICE!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorer60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
With all due respect we must state the facts regarding this review. Comfort Suites West of the Ashley has a very experienced and professional staff with customer service and satisfaction our number one priority. The contract for this group clearly disclosed the room rate and taxes and it was signed by the Tour Director well in advance of the group's arrival. At check in, the Tour Director signed a registration card showing that same room rate and at check out a final invoice including all charges was presented to the Tour Director for review and accuracy. This invoice was signed by the Tour Director before the group left the hotel. Although we explained our baggage handling fees to the Tour Director verbally, we graciously refunded them when the Tour Director complained about them. As for the "extra money we charged...on the rooms", we cannot refund the taxes which were the only other charges on the bill other than the room charge. We truly don't understand why this review was posted but it is important we state the facts for our loyal guests.

Thanks.
Steve Spear, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    257
    60
    20
    13
See reviews for
329
328
33
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed one night at this property. Check in was smooth although I had a Roomsaver discount coupon, it was not accepted (although my rate was $85+tax anyway which was a good rate). Rooms were nicely appointed and clean. Breakfast the next morning was ample. Location is very easy to find right off 526. Best hotel of our 6 night stay to SC.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvoChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband, daughter and I traveled to Charleston for the first time and I chose this hotel based soley on the reviews on this site. I am so glad I did! I chose this hotel due to the fact that it had an inside pool; I didn't want to take the chance that the weather wouldn't be nice enough to stay at a hotel with an outside pool. The pool is small, and there is no hot tub, but kids don't mind! It was even warm enough for me to get in! The parking on site is free AND you get a complimentary breakfast. The drive into downtown was only about 10-15 minutes, and with the handy map the front desk supplied, it was extremely easy to find public parking. We stopped into the Piggly-Wiggly grocery store across the street and bought snacks since the room had a fridge and microwave. When we checked in, we were told that we had been upgraded to a room with two queen beds and a whirlpool tub; for the same cost! The hotel is very clean, staff are friendly, and the breakfast good. Plus: Folly Beach is only about 25 minute drive from the hotel, and that is the best beach to visit! We had the absolute best time in Charleston, and this hotel was one of the main reasons!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, but there were a couple of minor glitches. The black out curtain was partially down when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon and not taken care of until the next day. They only had one toaster for breakfast, and only one side worked both days we ate there.

Aside from that we were pleased with the size and cleanliness of the room and the easy access to local attractions and resteraunts. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBowhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Hotel was as advertised. Location was convient for side trips to Ashley River plantations and was only a 15 minute drive into the down town. Lots of restaurants and markets in the area. One thing though GPS units won't direct you to this hotel, they actually direct you to a days inn that is about 1/2 mile further south along Savannah Highway

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driveswheelsoffcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

What can I say. This hotel is ideally located, is super-clean with a very friendly staff. The rooms are kept spotless and the complimentary breakfast is always refilled when necessary. The entire staff is very friendly and made our stay most enjoyable. Also their recommendations for local restaurants gave us a chance to eat where the locals eat. Although it is situated on a heavily traveled roadway, the room was obviously well insulated and we were not bothered with traffic noise. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, you owe it to yourself to stay here while you are in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel46084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labelle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My wife and I have travelled from Nova Scotia Canada on our trip to Florida, we wanted to visit Isle of the Palms,and planned on staying there, found we were not able to stay there, for reasons we will not discuss online,so headed to Charleston, upon arrival at this complex we were met with nothing but a professional/friendly attitude from the front office staff. we then met PAMELA MORGAN the sales manager who was most helpful and extremely interested in our needs, we would hightly recommend this beautiful property to any traveller who is in this area. Quality service/assistance and welcoming. If you want quality, comfort and a family atmosphere stay here

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,175 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing