We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I travel several times a year in the Southeast. This Comfort Suite is very plush & has excellent service. The GM, Pamela & her assistant Laura went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perry300803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 913 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

I almost hate to say how much this is about the only place we stay in Charleston because it sells out so often LOL (I do book early here). We were waiting on this to be built and worried about it being between 2 main roads but it is sooo quiet and peaceful inside- we LOVE it here!
Colors, layout, SIZE, conveniences, cleanliness- rooms couldn't be any better :} And the BEDS- oh the beds are as good as mine at home (and they are high $ new ones)
And the staff- front desk, housekeeping... are all so nice and helpful (just like the old days :] Especially the lady that runs the canteen- she has the BEST disposition to start your day on!
Heading back down for 3 more nights and expect all the comforts to greet us there. Flowers at Magnolia Gardens here we come!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This hotel was fairly new, probably built in 2009. It was very clean and well run. The beds were some of the best I've found in hotels of this price. We did need a rent car to get to and from the downtown area of Charleston but it was an easy drive and parking did not seem to be a problem as there were plenty of public garages.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is without a doubt the nicest comfort suites I have stayed in, the room look just like the photos on the website. The room is very modern with all the little amenities you could want and a great price for Charleston. The downtown area is about 5 miles staight down the road with lots of food along the way. The hotel is near the mall for shopping.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We will gladly return again!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druggist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We have stayed at the Comfort Suites-North of the Ashley several times and they have gone out of their way to help with any need we might have. They opened up their breakfast area for us to use for a Walk kick off meeting and have offered the use of their meeting rooms. The location is great for those living in the area and close to 526. Great Staff and Value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I have never been treated better by a hotel staff, they were there to answer any question and help in any way that they could. The rooms were clean, comfortable and included free wireless internet and a better selection of television channels than most hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Charleston be it for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tlc828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My husband & I stayed 3 nights March, 2011. Room was clean, spacious and surprisingly quiet considering our room overlooked a highway. Traffic noise was not an issue at all. Breakfast was perfect too. Drive from airport was easy and quick, drive into Charleston the same (maybe 20 minutes?). Lots of shopping & good restaurants nearby. Prices at hotels and B & B's in the historic district are often double that of this hotel. This was a wonderful alternative. Park along the Battery in Charleston for free. Otherwise, maximum $10.00 per day in city parkades. Good eats in Charleston: SNOB (Slightly North of Broad) and Griffon Pub.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franceisfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 62 in Charleston
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $87 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing