We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Old Slave Mart Museum
from $72.00
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveler rating
606
450
205
65
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
606
450
205
65
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews domestic slave trade story boards actual building eye opening american history self guided tour african americans provost dungeon combo ticket on display south carolina charleston history history lesson artifacts information shackles traders
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We did not know what to expect here so we weren't surprised by the detail provided by this museum. It's important to learn about this dark time in our history but truly sad.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Joelkaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This small but extremely informative museum tells a story that is not told often enough about the institution of slavery in the old south. This is a part of our history, and reading the stories of some of the men and women who came through Charleston as enslaved people really brings home the cruelty and injustice of the system, and you come away in awe of the people who built lives for themselves under such harsh conditions. Like many people, I was most familiar with the story of the plantations, but I learned a lot about the life of enslave people who lived in the city, and realized the role slavery played in the economy of both the North and the South.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Seriously. This place is a must see. To experience first hand the horrors of slavery, to hear the voices of those who went through here. It if captivating and beyond words. My wife and I were both so moved by this experience, and all the history you don't hear about in school. Thank you especially to our docent, Ista, for sharing his wealth of knowledge and information; he truly made the history come alive. Everyone needs to hear these stories, to understand how the slave trade has affected our country, and how it still affects us today. Did you know tenant farmers still worked fields in SC until 1990? Yes, 1990! Did you know that was also when the last Charleston school was desegregated? They gerrymandered their way along until then. Fascinating, real, relevant information. You really must go!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Steven_Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Walking through this museum that sits on the spot where slaves were sold gave me a chilling experience. The history concerning the slave trade is something everyone should see. This is an excellent family tour if you don't have young children in your group. It is heartbreaking in places.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Queen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Spend a few dollars ($5 for Sr) to see and read about this Slave Mart and others around Charleston. It is informative and should be seen and learn from it.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank lrickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews